Guinness Draft: An Amateurish Beer Review

in #beer4 years ago

I quite like Guinness Extra Stout in a basic brown bottle, but this is the Draught Stout with a nitrogen widget in the can. It is supposed to replicate a proper pub pint when poured into a glass.

20191209_184439.jpg

It looks nice enough, I suppose. The cream-colored head is quite persistent, and it floats atop a deep brown malty-smelling brew. I think the nitrogen is part of the odd nature of the foam. The bubbles that compose it are very fine.

Here's a look at the widget itself after I cut open the can to have a look inside.

20191209_190203.jpg

The taste is where I lose my enthusiasm here. It seems almost watery, and it just doesn't have the roasty malty body of the Extra Stout variety. I am thoroughly unimpressed. I recall having a similar opinion when trying this in a glass bottle, too, so I don't think I can blame the can for my disappointment. If you're used to Bud Light, this might seem stout in comparison, but that's about it.

In summary, Guinness Draught Stout: meh. Nitrogen widget infusion gimmick: meh. Guinness Extra Stout: Yea!

I suppose if I ever find myself in Ireland, I need to try proper draught Guinness. For now, the only stout is Extra Stout from here on.

Sort:  

I remember years ago when I still often found myself in bars that a good old Guinness from the tap seemed to always hit the spot, especially if I was feeling a bit hungry. Not so much with the bottles and cans in spite of the marketing, even when poured out in a pint glass. Next time I'm in the mood I'll have to grab some of the Extra Stout stuff to see if it measures up.

The Extra Stout is simply a good stout IMHO.

I'm not a fan of it to be honest, but you did such a good job with your review I thought it was worth a comment. How many cans did you have before you came to your conclusion? 😃

The one can last night, a bottle now and then over the years.

Ok well, it was a good review...You doing more?

I write these amateurish beer reviews intermittently.

...And get to have a bevvy at the same time. (Beverage) Nice work.

Guinness is one of my favorite beers... Everywhere I go I ask for a Guinness first, and if not then I get a Modelo Negra (which tastes somewhat similar).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83