Elysian Night Owl Pumpkin Ale: An Amateurish Beer Review

in #beer5 years ago (edited)

20191126_001142.jpg

In October and November, microbreweries churn out seasonal beers as aggressively as retail shops promote pumpkin spice everything. Some pumpkin beers just include squash in the brewing process. This beer, however, also includes roasted and raw pumpkin seeds, nutmeg, clove, cinnamon, ginger, and allspice according to the bottle label. Their website includes more info. A cellphone screenshot is included below, since the site doesn't have a specific page for each variety.

20191126_002947.jpg

The spices are very pronounced. It almost tastes like the perfect mix for a spiced cider. I'm not sure I like it in a beer, though. I'm not even sure I can taste the pumpkin through it, although there seems to be some lingering earthiness in the aftertaste that does remind me of squash.

I don't think I can recommend this beer. It overdoes the spice the way most pacific coast microbrews overdo hops. I don't find it enjoyable. I know I have had pumpkin ales I liked in years past, but this is a new brew to me, and it falls flat.

I suppose I may as well finish the bottle, though. Few beers are so awful that they go down the drain instead of down the hatch, and this isn't that bad.

Sort:  

They have to be super bad to go down the drain! I have my eye on a pumpkin one that my beer fit is getting in that looks good, otherwise I have never been a fan

Hey @jacobtothe, Nice beery post, you even might join the # BeerSaturday challenge week 129 with this one....

have a look to this weekly challenge wich is running already since 129 here on Steem. We have some prizes each week

I have no idea how to properly go about joining that contest. Do you have a rules post link or the like handy?

that is simple and you may have a read here https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/beersaturday-week-129 at the weekly post

I don't have the required picture count here, alas, and it feels lazy to edit it with something from the web. But perhaps I'll buy a pint and write something new this evening yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53