An Amateurish Seasonal Microbrew Faceoff!

in #beer5 years ago (edited)

20200219_210056.jpg

Isolation Ale from Odell Brewing Co. of Fort Collins, Colorado faces off against Brrr Hoppy Red from Widmer Brothers Brewing of Portland, Colorado! Which is the better cold weather brew? I found both on sale, so the price was right. Are they any good at all, though, if they haven't been selling?

Isolation Ale

Here in Colorado, summer's barely over before our eyes start searching for those first fall flakes - and for the return of Isolation Ale, a smooth caramel-malty ale, balanced by a subtly crisp hop finish.

This smells malty, and tastes malty. It doesn't have a lot of bitterness, but there is a hint of hoppy dryness in the finish that counterbalances the malt. I am drinking from the personal keg it came in, but I poured some into a small tumbler to offer a look at the contents. This stuff is a clear, dark honey color with a creamy head. Sorry about the poor lighting for the photo.

20200219_211929.jpg

It's certainly not a dark stout, but it has a hint of that profile. Not bad at all. The caramel-like malt is a bit cloying, but not in the sickly way cheap beers can be.

Brrr Hoppy Red

There is no blurb on this can, so no quotations of marketeering wankery, but there are some interesting numbers. 7.2% ABV is nothing to sneeze at, and the can says it contains 231 calories, 19.1 grams of carbohydrates, 2.6 grams of protein, and no fat. Huh.

20200219_212952.jpg

Again, lighting thwarts my efforts at a photo. I think this is actually a shade or two lighter than the Isolation Ale, but it has a similar honey color and pale creamy head of foam. Unlike the prior ale, this has a distinct pine note of hops to the scent, and the taste is much more crisp. It's no IPA, but that northwest microbrew hops fascination is here in this "Northwest Red Ale." I think the balance is good, though, and I approve of this brew. It tastes like a summery concoction to me, though, so the winter art seems out of place, and the release time is six months out of phase in my humble opinion. I'm not disappointed, though.

Conclusion

I have had 24 ounces of reasonably strong beer, and consequently feel pretty good. They have counteracted my chronic back pain quite nicely. I don't usually drink more than one beer at a time, and not even that as a daily ritual, but I make this sacrifice today for you, dear reader. I hope you're grateful.

If I had to pick a favorite, I think I lean toward Widmer Brothers, but both are above-average treats in a sea of lazy lagers with big advertising budgets.

Good night!

Now where is my leftover pizza...

Sort:  

I like a red ale, they both look while good. And no fat in them... Bonus! :0D

Strange how beer gut is a thing when beer is generally fat-free.

Lol, yeah. One of my friends who went on a health kick used to be a right pain in the arse when it came to drinking beer, lamenting that we were drinking empty calories FFS.

You should see his belly now!!

[tinfoilhat]I think it's a conspiracy!!! [/tinfoilhat]

It's all a conspiracy!!!

:0D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51