You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: X331: An Experimental Super-Hop Strain that will likely become the next Citra/Mosaic for IPAs

in #beer7 years ago

I have always been fascinated with making beer but a lot of the kits and what have you suck. If you don't mind my asking what is your set up and how long did it take you to get your ale like that? I think it looks rather good as I can see the fullness in both the head and lack of transparency.

Sort:  

Hey @jacobchamplain thanks for the kind words! Making beer is a blast, and I agree the kits might help you get your foot in the door, but they fall short of a real brewing experience. I use the most simple "all grain" set up to brew which is called "BIAB" or brew in a bag. The trend started in Australia, and is becoming widely recognized as not only the most simple method, but as a method which produces quality indistinguishable from some of the more complex brewing methods. You only need one vessel, and a large mesh bag which will hold your grains. I will definitely write up a quick BIAB guide sometime next week when I brew going from "grain to glass." I've been brewing consistently for close to 2 years now, its a great way to kick back and enjoy a morning or afternoon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55