Sort:  

It sounds disgusting, I know. I'm a homebrewer, and wouldn't consider attempting putting bacon in my beer. Having an oil slick on top of my beer would be gross, so I have to think they used artificial flavors.

That said, it tasted more like a stack of pancakes than an amalgam of the namesake food items. Still, unique and very good!

Do you inquire whether it was vegan or not? Especially if they are using flavourings rather than actual pig. It could be.

I admit...this question was pretty low on my list of things to discuss with the bartender.

Maybe because I already knew the answer about the vegan part of it. :) Oddly enough, it is not. The reason is due to the lactose/milk sugar they add for sweetness, which is typical of a lot of darker, sweeter beers (since it is a non-fermentable sugar).

They don't actually use bacon in the beer, though. They use 'natural flavorings' (I think a form of 'liquid smoke') and smoked grain to emulate the bacony flavor.

Ah the good old liquid smoke. Confusing vegans and vegetarians everywhere!

Interesting it's not lactose friendly beer. I know Guinness wasn't vegan for ages, but I have a feeling it is now.

I can see this easily turning into a breakfast beer. Lol.
Maple sounds good. Not so sure about the bacon part.
Thanks for sharing, bro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57614.45
ETH 3097.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57