Tipples Beer Review #73 – GBW Day 5 Canadian Beer at Mr West

in #beer6 years ago

So we have a bit of a different approach to Good Beer Week this year, rather than just drinking with Jordan and my brother I’m are using the drinking as a way of catching up with people, I know a novel concept, so this is how we ended up in Footscray where our friend Claire lives at a bar called Mr West who were hosting Canadian Pint of Origin.

There were paddles a plenty as we worked through small samples of many Canadian brews, most of which never seen on these shores before.

Can1.jpg
Plenty of IPA's, Saisons and sours on these paddles

Now first things first, given the well know fact that Canadians are scared of the dark I do not understand how this was held in the darkest bar in Melbourne, I mean it just seems cruel to me.

Mr West.jpg

But you don’t care about lighting, you care about beer so let’s talk about two standouts, both shown in the pic below.
First up was the Collective arts Milo malt milkshake which is a beer brewed especially for this event at Mr West, but I can see through untappd has been canned, into one of Collective Arts outstanding cool artwork cans and is available in the normal places that Collective Arts distribute, including Canada This is a beer that is meant to inspire thoughts of Milo, which is a Chocolate powder you mix with milk, normally as a teenager after school before you realise that
chocolate powder and milk just makes you fat. Anyway this beer is amazingly smooth, like drinking liquid velvet, there are hints of chocolate strangely they arrive at the start of the sip, disappear and then back to linger in the aftertaste. I really like this beer I would rush home from school to have this again. (Kids don’t drink it’s only for adults)

That was going to be my beer of the day, until I had a brown ale from Sawdust Brewing, firstly how can I go past this name, it’s called I Swear Sugarpants it was your idea I mean, how do you order that at a bar with a straight face, or at least avoid a sexual harassment charge?

It’s a cinnamon infused brown ale, and it’s amazing. But mainly I have to tell you about this beer because of the description that our friend Claire used to explain what the flavours were like.... “it’s like I’m drinking this in a big leather armchair in front of a open fire on a cold winter night, I have a cigar in my hand and the cookie monster is leaning on the fireplace chatting to me.”

I mean how could you not love a beer that’s now associated in my mind with the Cookie monster wearing underwear with sugarpants written on it. Thanks Canada, you make good beer, and now I need to go choose an ice hockey team or something.

Can 2.jpg
Sugarpants was no 20 (I think) and Milo Malt is the Tulip glass in the middle, responsible water drinking going on also

Sort:  

The milo malt looks great, but I can see it would be difficult to choose between all those beers!!

Canada is Great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66512.58
ETH 3313.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68