Tipples Beer Review #63 Barrow Boys Lickable Wallpaper Sour (Aust)

in #beer6 years ago

Licking wallpaper neither sounds like a something you should be doing in everyday life, or a particularly appealing name for a beer, but that’s was the Barrow Boys, a brewery out of Melbourne Australia, have decided to call this Raspberry and Rhubarb sour.

lickable.jpg

Firstly props to the can design, it’s unusual to see pink on a beer can and I applaud them for going for something a bit different, it all reminds me of a shirt I would have worn in the late 80’s early 90’s but I think that’s cool again, so maybe this is cool (please be aware that I'm under no illusions that I'm cool again)

On the pour it looks looks a dull pink orangey colour, like the colour of guava drink that you used to get in 2 litre cartoons back in my youth, come to think of it maybe that’s where the can design came from, it was important to know that it was ‘drink’ not juice, it was full of sugar, did a reasonable impression of juice, but wasn’t quite right.

Barrow Boys.jpg

Which is a similar story to this beer, it smells of raspberries, particularly frozen raspberries, which promises a lot, but when you taste it, well it’s just.....weird, I understand it’s called a sour, and I like sours, but I wasn't expecting this, it an unpleasant sort of sour, a tangy off taste rather than funky fruit flavours.

It all a disappointing mess, it not fruity enough to be a good fruit lambic, which it could have been, using raspberries instead of cherries, but it’s also not funky enough to be a yeast driven sour, and I don’t taste rhubarb, which if Mary Berry from Great British Bake Off has taught me anything is not a strong enough flavour to cut through. All in all this is just an in between beer, a nice idea, tries hard but falls short.

As always this is part of #beersaturday run by @detlev if you would like to help me win vote on my comment on the entry page here: https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/yeaahhh-it-is-time-for-the-steemit-beersaturday-challenge and if you haven’t entered, do so and make it harder for me to win. Or just kick it old Skool and upvote me below if you are that way inclined.

Sort:  

Here’s another pink beer can; I’m gonna post about this one a bit later.

5B40E18F-B162-4D54-9219-898F9FAD0B48.jpeg

Hmm french toast in a beer, interesting.

Yeah. It doesn’t quite work, but you can get a subtle taste of maple syrup that’s just teasing enough to make you want more (my wife didn’t like it at all, though, and she loves maple syrup).

Well they tried I suppose. I'm not a fan of sours to be honest. And cheery and rasberries just sounds weird in beers. As with rhubarb...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67706.99
ETH 3495.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21