[FG] TRENDING 09/07: National Beer Day + Food Pairing

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

Wednesday's Cat or Suiyoubi no Neko (Belgian Wheat)
Daiyaka in DC is ultra famous for its ramen.(1) So of course, while in DC, you gotta eat like a Washingtonian. I went there and the line was baaaaddd, even at a non-peak hour. While waiting to get seated, I went to the restaurant upstairs. Don't get confused when you're there! Both restaurants are Daikaya's. They serve ramen on the 1st floor and izakaya-style food on the 2nd floor. On the 2nd floor, I had some appetizers with this Neko beer. Right there and then, this beer became one of my favorites. It's super refreshing and light - like drinking a cold sparkling orange soda in a hot day! Highly recommend! Cute packaging too.

Yona Yona (Pale Ale)
After I'm almost done with my appetizer and Neko Beer at Daikaya 2nd floor restaurant, I got called that my table is ready. I went downstairs to the 1st floor ramen area to claim my throne at the ramen empire. I ordered my ramen and this Yona Yona beer. Yona Yona means "Every Day". Yes, this is seriously and literally the kind of beer you can drink every day. It is light but has that "enhance your taste bud" feeling -- the beer you want to drink before you eat your ramen, similar to the red wine and steak effect.

KSA - Fort Point Beer Company (Kolsch Style Ale)
I have other favorites, but this will be the last one for today. I'll end this post with something local from San Francisco -- Fort Point Beer Company. I had this beer with a burger from Popson.(2) It was sooo good! Fort Point also has this cool hangout area near the Ferry Building you should try out. If Ferry Building isn't your thing, there are LOTS of places in SF you can go and get Fort Point beer.(3)

(1) http://www.daikaya.com/menus/
(2) http://www.popsons.com/#locations
(3) http://www.fortpointbeer.com/

Sort:  

All three look super delicious!!! Thing about competing in #beersaturday. A challenge by @detlev! More info in his post!

Thanks again for letting me know about #beersaturday.

Congratulations @frozengrapes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @frozengrapes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65