My New Book: Brewing Better Beer

in #beer6 years ago (edited)

What's up Steemians and beer lovers?!

Today was a massively stressful day at work, I barely have any strength to type or even look at a screen makes me cringe. But I have found something to soothe the nerves a bit, reading up on this book which I bought before I ever brewed my first beer and it kinda got lost in the process: Brewing Better Beer by Gordon Strong.

Screenshot_20180223-014615.png

I bought this one on Kindle kinda by impulse since I was so hyped for brewing beer that I wanted to read up on the subject and become knowledgeable before I ever touched a grain of malt. Little did I know how much learning to brew is like learning to cook. You can read recipes and watch youtube videos all day long, but you will never become a chef or a brewer until you get your hands burned squeezing all the wort out of a 6 kilo steaming hot bag of mashed grain.

So because of my lack of experience, I got a bit lost in the text and forgot about it for some time, I think it has been four months or so now. This book is meant for people with a general understanding of brewing who want to improve their techniques and develop skills such as how to barrel age beer. The author lists several recipes and I will definitely try to make some. But his general train of thought is quite solid and down to earth, he mentions several times the importance of taking it one step at a time and gaining progressive exprience. Most importantly, he defends that beer brewing must be all grain, and that using extract involves little to no skill and shouldn't be considered brewing. I agree with that to the extent that I have never brewed extract, I think there is simply no "romance" in doing that. But that's just me.

So I look forward to continuing this read and viewing the book with a new perspective, as a newly experienced brewer, rather than a clueless dreamer. If I learn something very interesting, I will definitely share it here.

Cheers and good night folks!

IMG-20180223-WA0003.jpg

Sort:  

Looks like a good read. I ha e read a few books and tons of articles on brewing. I love the science behind it.

It's a science and an art. I have a lot of passion for cooking and learning to brew was like learning to make my first fried egg. And just like with food there is so much more to learn.

I could of not of said it better myself. Happy brewering my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56