You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Brewing beer - step by step, part 6: Fermentation!

in #beer7 years ago

Good post.
I was surprised when I read you can leave the fermenter open and let the wild yeast do the job? Have you ever tried this? Don't you also invite bacteria and other not welcomed things to have a go at the wort?

Sort:  

It is still a common practise in some monastic brew houses in Belgium, but the result is very unpredictable if you do not control the environment like they do. With the Elder flowers it is a little better, but I have had some batches look more like jelly than cider...

Fascinating. Can you do a post about that maybe, I would love to read about it :)

What part would you like me to write about? The yeast starter?

The wild yeast brewing. How they do it in monasteries and what kind of beer is produced and how to do it at home :)
I would be interested in reading that

Ok, absolutely! I'm going to cover the basics first but then I plan to deep dive into special topics like this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99