Are you a Stupid Head?? Stupid Head from Stillwater Artisanal

in #beer5 years ago (edited)


CLICK IMAGE TO SEE VIDEO A craft beer tasting with stupid Head Hefeweizen from Stillwater Artisanal Ales.

Brewery: Stillwater Artisanal Ales
Beer: Stupid Head
Style: German Hefeweizen
ABV: 8.0%

Welcome back for another beer tasting, I'm Kevin with CrafTeeBeer and for today's craft beer tasting, we are tasting a German Hefeweizen.

This German Hefeweizen is the "Stupid Head" from Stillwater Artisanal Ales. The Stupid Head is an 8% ABV German Hefeweizen hefe meaning yeast and weizen meaning wheat.

German wheat beers are usually 50% wheat 50% barley, this particular beer is supposed to have been made with mango and pineapple and lactose sugars, so it's going to be a little bit sweeter than most German wheat beers because lactose sweetens a beer. Because lactose is a sugar that the yeast doesn't consume to make alcohol it remains to sweeten the beer. It is what is used in style like Milk Stouts for that creamy sweetness.

Stillwater Artisanal was started in 2010 by Brian Strumke and I guess previously to being a Craft Beer Brewer he was an electronica DJ and was fairly successful. The name of the brewery Stillwater artisanal comes from when he was a DJ his stage name was Brian Stillwater and he carried that over into the into the brewery.

The can says Stupid Head is a double dry hop tropical smoothie, an 8% ABV Hefeweizen. The can artwork is pretty cool, it's a crazy cartoonish inspired head in somewhat fluorescent like colors.

Let's get the stupid head out of the can and into the glass and we'll see what this looks and tastes like.

It looks the part of a cloudy wheat beer. it's that cloudy grapefruit juice looking color, so it's a pale gold with only a little bit of a head. Maybe half a finger of white head. So it definitely looks like a wheat beer, it's a good looking beer!

I can smell grapefruit already while I was pouring. The aroma is a little bit of funky grapefruit. Definitely has a bit of yeasty sour to it, maybe described as yeasty funk.

It's called a tropical smoothie so I'm guessing the intent was to have something fruity and sweet so let us dive in and give the Stupid Head a taste.
Oh yeah! Another really good really good beer. I was going to say it's not as sweet as I expected because of the lactose, and it was there it just took a second to show up. First was a little bit spicy grapefruit, mango and not as sweet as I anticipated. Then a second or two into the sip a little rush of sugar sweetness broke out. Lactose is milk sugar so it creates a creamy beer. I get a little bit of some creaminess so I'm sure it is from that lactose that was used in brewing the beer.

Mouthfeel has a little sticky staying behind, like a juicy sweet sugar stickiness.

This one is a creamy, grapefruit, mango, with a little bit of tartness to it and also a little bit of funk in there.

Let's see what people think about this online.
Stupid Head from Stillwater Artisanal Ales has a 3.9 rating on BeerAdvocate. It has a 3.69 cap rating on Untappd.

I'm pretty sure they are a Gypsy brewer so I don't know how much beer they produce or how widely distributed there beers are but I am so glad that I scored this one.

I will go ahead and check this one in. Another one checked in The stupid Head from Stillwater Artisanal Ales, I gave it a 4.5 cap rating and I really like this one. I went with the description.

Wow! Yeast funk, pineapple, mango up front, and some creamy sweetness washes all that down. Some sweet stick mouthfeel kicks around.

So the real question is... Is Brian Strumke a better brewer or electronica DJ?

That brings another beer tasting to an end. Thanks for joining me. If you want to find me on Untappd my username is CrafTeeBee. https://untappd.com/user/CrafTeeBeer
Also, check out my Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/crafteebeer/

Great Beer books, also great gifts for beer nerds are here: https://www.crafteebeer.com/beer-books/

Well, until the next beer tasting!
Cheers!
Kevin


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hey Kevin!

I'm happy to come across your Dtube channel today!

Not a beer drinker but I'll be part of your Dtube Journey here :)

Hope you're having a great weekend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94