Battle of beer siblings

in #beer6 years ago (edited)

This month's Beer52 delivery introduced me to their Elements project which was designed to showcase the difference in beer by tweaking singular ingredients like yeast, malts and, of course, hops!

The way it works is that each beer in this box has an almost identical twin; a beer that was brewed on the same date, in the same conditions with the difference being a single ingredient. I was really intrigued by this concept so I was obviously pretty excited to try it out!

I chose to start with the New England IPA couple.
20171120_172758.jpg

As the name implies, the first one uses Citra hops, while for the second they went for El Dorado.
20171120_172652.jpg

As expected, they look identical. Beautifully golden haze with nice heads.
20171120_173114.jpg
20171120_173152.jpg

While they might look the same, they certainly smell and taste differently. With the Citra, I knew exactly what to expect as this is one of the most commonly used hops in the last couple of years; lovely grassy and citrusy aroma. Taste wise, big citrus flavours with a passionfruit ending.

The El Dorado on the other hand surprised me. The aroma is not as in your face as the Citra, it feels more delicate; grassy but fruitier. The flavour was mellow to start with so I was disappointed for about 5 seconds until all flavours started showing up. Lots of fruit and a lovely light sourness.

After the first few sips, I really preferred the Citra, probably because of the familiarity but then the subtle flavours won me over. The more I was having from both, the more I was leaning towards declaring the El Dorado the winner of this experiment.

20171120_173620.jpg

I had fun with trying these beers and it is always amazing to realise how much difference the choice of hops make and how widely it affects the overall flavour of a beer. Looking forward to trying the other pairs!

For me, the El Dorado hops won this round!

Cheers for having a look!

Sort:  

It' a great way to learn about beer ingredients. One of the best things I ever did was Mikkeller's hop series beers, which were the same beer base, but with a different single hop in each beer - taught me what I like about some hops and not others, made it much easier to indentify hops too.

Indeed! It's amazing to see how much the flavours change just by swapping one ingredient.

That series sounds great! We've got a local brewery here doing the same thing with one of their staple brews and it's always a lot of fun to see the differences.

not enough haze!

Never enough haze!

Received 1.6x reward. from @steemfunding,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01