Beer Tasting - Smoked ('Franz Xaver Smoked Märzen (FXG)' by Gänstaller Bräu Brewery)

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

Crapulence in your head from last night of drinking but you need to continue? Try beer + coffee combination! It works wonders for me!

It is a smart version of Red Bull + vodka. That is for ladies and beer is for men! And very manly girls!

Exactly what I ordered when we sat down in the best craft beer bar in Samobor. They played with the name - it is called Bor Bar.

First thing that came to mind was - @mynameisbrian was here. Look what hangs over the counter!

How similar is it to the logo of

http://steemit.deadfollowers.info/

A very handy Steemit resource / application! Guess who made it!


@cryptodan commented yesterday on my post:

I drank a beer yesterday that had expired by more than 2 years.
Lesson learnt: Beer doesn't get too old to drink, it just changes flavor :D

Unknowingly, we experienced something similar!

Beer on review today is Smoked beer style. It is usually made with malt smoked over beechwood.


Image credit


Photo-shoot


Franz Xaver Smoked Märzen (FXG) by Gänstaller Bräu Brewery

StyleSmoked
CountryHallerndorf, Germany
Alcohol5.6%
--------------
AppearanceNo head. Never seen this before. Waterfall style pouring, some whitish fluff that dissolves instantly. Zip. Reddish brown. Clear.
AromaSmoked ham. Wood. Barrell. Salt.
TasteHigh roasted. Low sweet and low salty.
PalateExtremely watery. Disappointing. Low carbonation.
--------------
OverallWe noticed that it expired 15 days ago so that might be the crux of the issue here. It has an extremely high RateBeer score so I suspect it hasn’t spoilt yet but lost much of its potency. If fresh this could be a blast. Aroma was certainly different from what I had in awhile. Hard to get a good smoked. That wave in Croatia hasn’t started yet.
Score (subjective, personal)sustained

Price: 20 kuna (3$) for 2 x 0.33l. Low, low price! Waiter encouraged us to take this on sale but didn’t charge us in the end when I told him about the date. I’ll take it as an honest mistake

This review was improved by RateBeer!

Please drink with style and responsibility!


Camera: Canon SX170 IS

Beer aficionados and friends: @kingscrown @meesterboom @beers @uwelang @steemswede @rynow - you encourage me to write every day!You can find a lot more beer posts in my blog as well as other posts on various topics. Thank you for all your sharing, caring and upvoting!

Buy BTC with Coinbase. You and I both get 10$ for free if you use this link and buy 100$ worth of BTC.


How to make letters so small? Ask me in chat room! Let’s hang out!

I am itching for Steemfest! Take a look at this Steemit Meetup NYC by cute sunburned @dreemit. Pictures of some popular steemians inside!


What is your dead followers ratio?

Sort:  

Good job

Good beer - good work! Thanks for stopping by!

I don't like at all the pure smoked beer. For me smokey flavour and aroma works best with roasted malts as Carafa and Caramunich, This coffee-chocolate-caramel aromas just blend so smoothly with the smoked flavour. My smoked oatmeal stout have done a pretty good job on the last Bulgarian international beer event, scoring 38 points.
Congratulations on the article!

You participated in a beer event!? Advertise that a lot. People are interested in such things. Good suggestions. If I notice something like that I'll give it a try! :)

cheers!

Nice to see you here! I can feel the positive vibes already!

Interesting. Personally I'm not the biggest fan of smoked flavor in my beer. Had a smoked bacon beer a few years back, worst beer I have ever had. They used juniper to try and make the bacon flavor, not a good combination unexpectedly.

Btw, got my friday craft brew series up late late yesterday! Was able to put up a few of the Italian beers I had. Hope you'll be able to check it out!

I'll take a look! I can see that making a good Smoked is very tricky :/

Very interesting! There is a smokey chinese black tea called Lapsang souchong that a brewery local to me is attempting to flavor a porter with, looking forward to the flavor and would love to do a taste test with this one!

Amazing! If you happen to try it or even just a photo link it or write about it. I'd upvote for sure!

Many thanks! Going to write up an article about how well tea flavors beer here in the next few days so keep an eye out and be well! :)

Smoked beer that sounds amazing ! I love beer, need to visit soon !! thanks for sharing !!

Thank you for visiting! Looking forward to finding another!

ha..ha.. redbull+vodka for ladies and beer for men...nice! :)

My motto! You need to have a few handy!

Wow, never tried a smoked beer, never seen one here in Italy. Now I'm curious to try it, hope to find it asap!

Yeah, it's not that common. Good for a change!

I agree beer is never to old to drink!

Well - I appreciate the feeling behind it, but let's be careful! :D

Good beer... yes! :)

Seldom do I have one that's not good! If it isn't then I just have too many... All in the perspective! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61179.86
ETH 2631.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46