Beer Tasting - California Common ('The Garden Pacific Common' by The Garden Brewery)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

The market is in the green again despite the Chinese ban! I went to celebrate with a beer... erm, well, I'd go anyway.


Image source


I took a short stroll to my favorite testing facility - The Craft bar in Opatovina street. As you can see it was quite empty at noon. I know this isn't a representative sample because it is only 0.15 ml but I have work duties. I can't get tipsy so early in the day!

At the entrance I noticed gluten free beer! What say you to that @dumar022?? I tend to agree with my friend that it is a conspiracy theory so I wanted to try it and reach the definite and obvious verdict - It'd be better WITH gluten!

At the last moment California Common style caught my eye. Now what was that again?, I thought to myself. Very knowledgable and I dare say, gorgeous, barmaids, started pouring the information but I got sidetracked there for a minute, hehe.

Today's menu! They really change it almost every day!

Photo-shoot

The Garden Pacific Common by The Garden Brewery

StyleCalifornia Common
CountryZagreb, Croatia
Alcohol4.2%
--------------
AppearanceVoluptuous rocky white head. Cute. Deep gold. Nice legs.
AromaOrange zest. Lager like smell. Grainy sweet.
TasteLow bitter, low sweet. Quite bland. Doesn't suit my taste, really.
PalateLow carbonation. Feel like it was left sitting for too long. Watery. Slight bitterness in the aftertaste might be a redeeming quality.
--------------
OverallI went for it because of the novel style for me so I might have misjudged it. that said, I really don't like it. Like a lager with hefty price tag.
Score (subjective, personal)8/20

Price: 9 kuna (1.45$) for 0.15 l. On tap in a pub. Mid-range

This review was improved by RateBeer!

Brand new, no score yet!

Please drink with style and responsibility!


Camera: Cell phone - Moto G4 Plus 16MP

Beer devotees: @kingscrown @meesterboom @beers @uwelang @steemswede @rynow @mk40 @detlev @imperfect-one - you encourage me to write every day!You can find a lot more beer posts in my blog as well as other posts on various topics. Thank you for all your sharing, caring and upvoting!

Need some post visibility and promotion? Use @bellyrub bot! Still not enough? Trade or earn BUILDTEAM tokens! Better Steemit future right now. By @buildteam.

Buy BTC with Coinbase. You and I both get 10$ for free if you use this link and buy 100$ worth of BTC.
How to make letters so small? Ask me in chatroom! Let’s hang out!


You'd rather have a refreshing juice than beer? Check out what you can find in Shenzhen, China! A travel post by @nicolemoker. More info in this link!

I offer good curation rewards if you’d like to follow my trail! Find me in discord and chat!

Sort:  

Gluten free beer, what is the use of it making so?

A bit like coffee without caffeine...well, maybe not that bad, at least there's still alcohol in it, ha!

I'm glad I ran into you in that post. steemit is a funny place, sometimes it feels tiny, but then I'll see one of the great people I've met along the way and realize it's been quite some time since I've visited and it suddenly seems vast.

I love beer. While most of my female friends prefer fruity drinks spiked with liquor (yuck) or wine ranging from sweet to dry (better, but still meh) my idea of delicious is ninety-nine beers on tap :)

And yes, it's better with gluten haha! Based on the ones I've tried anyway. There might be a fantastic gluten free beer out there somewhere, but after three less than awesome experiences I've decided it's not worth searching for ;)

Edit: Gorgeous pictures.

Thanks! A wonderful reply! You really made my day. I think I also remember you from my very first days here! Let's not be strangers in the future!

Sweet, I love making someone's day ;) I absolutely agree, I don't even know how I lost touch with your blog!

Check steemit.chat ;)

I'm at my parent's house and their computer is a DINOSAUR, ha, I tried to get on chat but it's just loading and loading...I'll be home in a couple hours, I'll check it out then- look forward to it!

I concur that BEER is better with the gluten.
I may try "gluten-free" breads or #desserts, but not with my beer .. No way !

Thanks for taking one for the team there. I think I would pass on that one as well.

Yum, there is an apple cider too on the menu.

A cider person? I was thinking about writing up one!

There was a time I would have 'meh'd' this as well, but after making it with friends two years in a row, in addition to the cidery I've gone to see my brother (musician) at this year, I've changed my mind. It's not beer, but it's a nice change up sometimes.

Thanks for sharing and testing all the various types, not all will always be to every-ones tastes

I wiss I would drink it right now. I love beer so much! I was with a man who made his own homemade beer here in Brazil, it was awesome and really good. Unfortunately here in Brazil the good beers are very expensive and they use a lot of corn to make it. :(

There is one here as well. The name is @costopher and he sent me his brew from the UK to taste and write about! It was quite an adventure!

Sounds like a great reason for a celebratory beer.
Although to be honest, I kinda think most things are a great reason for a celebratory beer....

Appearance: Voluptuous rocky white head. Cute. Deep gold. Nice legs.

After mentioning the gorgeous barmaids I'm suspicious of this description of the beer's appearance. Perhaps you were distracted.

Hehe, you could be right!

I must have missed this bar when I was in Zagreb last year. Or is it new? Kinda like that Craft Room glass.

It is kind of in a side alley, opened in 2015. You do have to go searching for it, I guess...

Whoa -- that 4th image shows a Huge foamy head on it !

Hmmm, will like to dive right into that one..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59159.54
ETH 2599.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42