Beer Tasting - Barley Wine ('Saint Martin’s Beer' by Medvedgrad Brewery)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #beer6 years ago (edited)

Bitcoin Cash is on the decline. Was it a one time flick or a good buy opportunity now, I wonder. BTC remains strong and I again have the urge to sell off all my possesion and take a loan to buy more. As always, I found solace in beer. Or is it wine this time? Nah, it’s a beer.


Look at this BCC chart. Not very promising at all. Declining volume. I hope it was a failed attempt of a whales’ coup.


The menu on tap at Craft Beer Pub was promising though.

I got warmly welcomed by a freebie tasting. My favorite barmaid. Slovenian Barrel Aged Sour. It adds an element of sweetness to the sourness. Mostly due to higher alcohol content probably (7.5%). Sours are usually 4-5%. I really like them and if you are looking for something new in beer terms, go for sour! Just stay open minded!

Gone before you know it!

I just couldn’t resist St. Martin’s Beer named after the famous Christian saint Saint Martin of Tours. His name is usually evoked during the wine harvest season. Hey, it seems the guy liked beer, too!

It is probably named like that because the style is barleywine (but beer). It’s always very heavy in alcohol, above 10% with thick, full body. It has to stay in a keg for a few months so it requires more effort to be produced. It’s mostly aimed to be drank as a dessert, not in large quantities. The price usually deters such endeavors anyway.

Daily beer menu 15/11/2017

Photo-shoot

Saint Martin’s Beer

StyleBarley Wine
CountryZagreb, Croatia
BreweryMedvedgrad Brewery
Alcohol10.3%
--------------
AppearanceAmber brown. Modest whitish head.
AromaConservative aroma. Wow. Extremely weak. Didn't expect that. Hints of malt. Caramel.
TasteSucculent. Sweet. Bit of burnt malt. One dimensional. On the upside, Can't feel alcohol that much.
PalateMedium carbonation. Thick and honeyish. The usual barley 🍷. Tingles the palate. Leaves sharp bitter aftertaste which I'm not too fond of.
--------------
OverallIt's seasonal. It's special. But somehow we didn't become friends. Not bad by any means it just doesn't leave a lasting impression. I'll go harsh on the score with the style in mind. Not the overall beer experience.
Score (subjective)15/20

Price: 15 kuna (2.35$) for 0.15 ml. Pub on tap. Mid-range for the style.

This review was improved by RateBeer!


Please drink with style and responsibility!


Camera: Cell phone - Moto G4 Plus 16MP

Beer devotees: @kingscrown @meesterboom @beers @uwelang @rynow @detlev @professorbromide @costopher - you encourage me to write every day!You can find a lot more beer posts in my blog as well as other posts on various topics. Thank you for all your sharing, caring and upvoting!

Join the openmic competition. Run by @luzcypher! Help it grow by delegating to @openmic! New talents will appreciate it! Trade or earn BUILDTEAM tokens! Better Steemit future right now. By @buildteam.

Buy BTC with Coinbase. Free 10$ in the link. Don’t want to spend money and you don’t like writing posts? Check out @sportsncoffee and @steempickem for FREE Sports Contests!


I offer good curation rewards if you’d like to follow my trail! Find me in chat or discord. Same username. Earn while you sleep! Expect @professorbromide, @cheftony, @derrick829, @anejosua’s vote and many more when I upvote! If you liked their vote, show some love back!

Sort:  

I don't know if we'll see another major rally in bitcoin cash up to $28000, but I'd gladly sell some of my bitcoin cash for a pint of that Slovenian brew.

Hehe, as long as it doesn't end like those famous pizzas

BCCs rally isn't over yet...but I reckon a good time to get a bagful of BCCs is gonna be once it gets into the $800 - $900 range because sooner or later it's gonna repump towards its ATHs. BTW though, you are a meanie with all those beer pics, lol...you got me thirsty for a good old bottle of beer and some, haha

Now that just makes me want to buy some

You know, I am pretty bad at trading with cryptocurrencies (or any type of trading for that matter), so from now on, I decided to invest evenly in BTC, Monero and Steem... and just hold :) And whenever there are big fluctuations in the prices, I am going to comfort myself with a beer.

I like how you call draught beer in Slovenia - toceno pivo 😏

I should listen to your advice, my portfolio sucks lately. Maybe I need some days off.

Beautiful pictures of beautiful beer, as usual :) My brother has gotten really into the sours, they unfortunately don't serve them at any of the places close to my house, but when I go watch his show in Rochester this weekend I'll definitely try it out.

I know! Real hard to find. Only places that are really into beer tend to hold it. Tell him to post over #beersaturday when he has the chance ;)

BCH was an inside job....nothing but whales hoping to take down BTC.
Tell me more about your trail.
We're gonna have to drink together one of these days.
Maybe we can do an episode of Hots or Shots together, I just posted about it yesterday.

Definitely! I'm up for anything drink related! Will check it out today, I'm off to work right now! About the trail we can chat over Discord. I see it primarily as a good way to get your name around. I vote a LOT, but at a low, low percentage.

I love tasting new beers! :D There are so many different flavors. I'm always amazed how different can some beers be.

Best analysis chart indeed BCC going down level. That would be Declining volume. Saint Martin’s Beer is vine looking, very high volume [10.3%] alcohol percentage. Its rough one.

How I was not following you yet? Best 🍺 blog!

Nice beer choices with fabulous photo shots @buzzbeergeek. Also better BCC analyse.
Upvote & Resteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98