You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beer Tasting - Berliner Weisse ('Blitz Saison' by BrewDog Brewery)

in #beer7 years ago

I personally love Berliners, they are great at showcasing flavors and super refreshing. Berliners have always been a less known style around me, but I see them gaining popularity this year for several reasons. Berliners are the mildest in sourness as far as sour goes. Most people are not into sour beer, but Berliners are a great "intro" sour before you get to the heavier ones. These beers are also low in ABV, averaging between 3-3.5% so you can enjoy many of them and still get up from your stool afterwards. Also, these Berliners use a small amount of hops, and with hop shortages in some particular breeds, this beer can be made without using a large amount.

I think the most important thing is the clean bill profile. It makes for the perfect platform for adjuncts - Lime, milk sugar, gummy worms, just about anything can be added to make it an interesting and flavorful beer. Many stronger sours are far too complex and bold to mix with interesting ingredients like this. While many brewers around the world are already offering Berliners, I see many more coming this next year, with even more exotic ingredients, and becoming more of a mainstay/flagship offering at most breweries.

Sort:  

Amazing how much energy you put into this! Thanks! Why don't you add a few photos and make it in a post! Also, check out #beersaturday contest by @detlev if you haven't

Thank you, I should try that. I am writing a bunch of posts on how to drink beer and lose weight atm, but I do have many ideas for beer trend posts I want so share in the near future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62135.43
ETH 2418.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58