Beer Review - Houblon Chouffe

in #beer6 years ago

Houblon Chouffe

Brewery: Brasserie d Achouffe, Belgium

Having lived in Belgium for several years, I had the great pleasure to experience many different Belgian beers. Some from large brewery companies, and some from smaller independent companies. The delightful beer is from the Brasserie d'Achouffe brewery in the Belgian Ardennes region, and the brewery is part of the Duvel-Moortgat Brewery group. Despite sometimes the perception that larger brewing companies produce rather blander beers, this brewery consistently produces very high quality beers.

Website for the brewery: http://www.achouffe.be/en

IMG_6259.JPG

This Houblon Chouffe is a 9% alc. beer brewed with three different hops. It's an Indian Pale Ale and has a brilliant taste which I have not found with any other triple hop beer. When poured into the glass there is a hazy straw yellow color with a frothy white head. There is a nice arome of yeast and citrus, with a perfect dry finish. This is a perfect beer for drinking all night long, if you bear in mind the 9% alc. content!

IMG_6262.JPG

Whenever I am back in Belgium, this is one of the beers I make sure I bring back with me in my suitcase!

IMG_6260.JPG

up-divider.png

What was your choice of beer today?

Cheers!

Sort:  

I'd forgotten all about this beer, thank you for reminding me about it. It has been several years since I last had it but I'll definitely have to get some in time for the summer now.

Good shout! Yes, it is totally the perfect beer to have on a hot summer day

As you've reminded me of such a great beer I feel its only fair I suggest one for you too. Brew Dog do a beer called Elvis Juice, its a 6.5% Grapefruit IPA and bloody amazing. By fluke somebody picked it up for me from Tesco (as I like Elvis) and I was blown away by it.

I live in Germany, so unfortunately no Tesco for me :-( (a good British supermarket is one of the main things I miss since I left) --- but there is a BrewDog Bar in Berlin which you just reminded me I must go to again soon. Thanks for the tip, will be sure to try the Elvis Juice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67079.94
ETH 3266.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64