Beer Review - Iron Horse Send It Pale Ale

in #beer6 years ago

I just bought this from my local beer store, I usually don't buy pale ales but since it was in the singles rack and I am not finding as many beers I typically like I will supplement my beer tasting stock with pale ales and IPAs on occasion. Plus I wanted to get in on @webstar 's contest and Pale Ales was the category this time. So here we go.

Iron Horse Brewing - Send It Pale Ale

IMG-4191.JPG

Stats

  • Brewery: Iron Horse Brewery, Inc. - Ellensberg, Washington
  • Alcohol Content: 5.25% by volume
  • IBUs: 45
  • Company Description: This pale ale knows how to crank. It’s a highly drinkable, middle-tier abv beer with moderate hop intensity but full sendability.

IMG-4192.JPG

Presentation
This beer comes in a 12 oz aluminum can with green and lighter yellowish green graphics. Of course it has the Iron Horse Skull and Crossbones logo near the name and lots of other cool funny sayings around the can, typical Iron Horse labeling. Iron Horse generally sells in 12 oz cans but you will also find 22 oz bottles of some of their beers. I have sampled both and had a variety of their beers. They tend toward the hoppier side of things which seems to be a west coast specialty but they also make my favorite brown ale and some tasty dark beers also.

IMG-4193.JPG

The Beer

  • Appearance: Hazy golden beer with a nice 2 finger thick head of white foam.
  • Aroma: Had a citrusy odor on the pour.
  • Taste/Mouthfeel: Moderate carbonation and citrusy hoppiness with a dry finish. Not overly bitter, slight bitterness on the finish. Can pick up some pine in the taste also.
  • Drinkability: Due to the hoppiness, I just wouldn't drink it much but it is lower in the abv and not super bitter or hoppy so I would think it is drinkable for most people, especially those hop heads.

IMG-4194.JPG

Rating and Final Thoughts


I gave this a modest 2.50 rating on Untappd, just not a beer I would ever buy again. I was put off by the hoppiness more than anything, but that is normal for me. Actually, I have a hard time differentiating between some pale ales and some IPAs, as they all pretty much taste the same to me sometimes. I am not afraid to try Iron Horse beers as they mix things up a bit.

2.50/5

Thanks for reading my review. If you like hoppy beers, this one would be a good one for you to try. Cheers!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-23T23:39:39
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 311.25/200.00
Total Photos: 51
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Good to know it is hoppy, I like pale ales usually, bit only the sweeter ones. Good review!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.51
ETH 3482.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17