Beer Review #1 Magic Hat - Circus Boy Hefeweizen

in #beer8 years ago

The Start of My Beer Review Series

Reviewing Food Is Fun, But Another Favorite of Mine Is Drinking And Reviewing Different & Unique Beers
DSCN244408217.jpg

I'll be following a format similar to what beer advocate does. Look, smell, taste and overall thoughts on the beer. I know I should be drinking the beers out of the correct glass and if I were a true beer snob I would regulate the temperature and pour the beer in a certain way, but I'm looking more to inform about whether you should spend the money to get the beer I am reviewing. Consider it a Consumer Beerports :) Hope you enjoy!

Label - Circus Boy. The Hefeweizen. 3/4 Pint of beer brewed with lemongrass. Performance in every bottle. The ancient ritual of brewing a distinctly rich and flavorful beer is a performance to behold. Our mysterious melange of time-honored ingredients harmonize with chaotic chemistry, humble patience and blind faith to create this unique beer to share in the rousing company of kindred spirits. Cheers!

Appearance - Pale, golden blonde with not a very thick head of foam. Dissipated quickly similar to a domestic beer. There is a bit of sediment which leads to a slightly hazy color. I was disappointed in the lack of foam, but there were a good amount of bubbles. I like a beer to lace the glass as I drink it, but this left nothing at all.

Smell - A bit sweet and fruity. (It is brewed with lemongrass, and for me that scent did transition into the odor of the beer). There is also some hints of spice, but nothing too strong.

Taste - Not so much like a real Hefeweizen, but a bit more like a mild wheat beer. It is smooth and slightly sweet with a tinge of a sweet corn or cornbread taste. It does not have a very high alcohol content, so it doesn't suffer from an overpowering ABV content. Overall it's pretty refreshing but a bit thin.

Extra Points - The label is fun and enticing show a yellow background with a full glass that is overlayed with some playful text that works quite well. The advertising for this beer is quite well done.

Recommendations - I think this is a nice drinkable summer beer. I don't think I'd purchase a six pack, but if it were an option at a party, it would be a choice you would likely not be disappointed with. If there was a head that laced the glass and a slightly stronger true Hefeweizen flavor, I believe it would be ranked a bit higher.

Untitled-11d8621.jpg
Image4672e15.jpg
Image Courtesy of Beer Advocate

What do you think? Feel free to add to my review or disagree in the comment section below. Also I'm happy to find unique beers and try them and any recommendations you give that I wind up enjoying may net a small amount of SBD. Bottoms Up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56647.53
ETH 2372.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26