A green beer?! Only in Berlin...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #beer7 years ago

IMG_20170601_193403-01.jpeg
The 'Waldmeister' beer ("Berliner Weisse mit Schuss: Waldmeister") in all it's green glory!

After the first day of the Blockchain Expo conference a number of us went to a nearby beer garden to enjoy the evening sun and of course some delicious beer.

A local, Berliner, recommended that we try the 'Waldmeister'; given that it was quite unusual and unique to Berlin. I did - and I can say that I did not regret it one bit.

The beer was excellent, quite sweet and not very strong. In fact, it was hard to tell that you were drinking a beer; it was so drinkable that it seemed more like I was drinking a fizzy drink / pop. I enjoyed it a lot and decided to treat myself to a second.

I enjoyed it a lot and decided to treat myself to a second

The 'Waldmeister' is actually a mix of a Weisse (white) beer - Berliner Weisse - with mixed with a green syrup; to take away the sourness of the beer. The syrup is given an artificial flavor or a plan called 'Woodruff' which is used as a flavoring for food and sweets.

You can see the bottle of the Berliner Weisse that was used to make this drink in the picture below:
IMG_20170601_185612-01.jpeg

The beer comes with a straw so that you can mix the syrup into the beer. It keeps separating, so it's an ongoing task.

I enjoyed the oily look of the syrup and the pattern that it makes with the beer when you stir it, so I decided to make a short video of it - which I turned into the below GIF:

videotogif_2017.06.02_11.17.44.gif

Enjoy

banner.gif

Sort:  

now that's a pint I'd really like to try! (seeing as weiss/witibiers are my preferred taste, and "pretty colors") :U

Oh, this green beer was the first beer I ever tasted in my life! And it was in Berlin too! Six years ago. :) Thank you for bringing back the memories! ;)

You're welcome; glad that you enjoyed the post.

Looks weird lol never seen green beer before :)

Yeah, it's very unusual, but tastes so good. I would definitely recommend trying it if you take a steem-funded trip to Berlin 😊

I will give it a go when I get the chance :)

I must travel to berlin then 😄

It's a really nice city - I would recommend visiting.

Never I drink Green Beer
i think is very cool
I will try to find it in some big supermarkets
Thanks for sharing
Have a great weekend

I'm glad that you enjoyed the post. Hope you have a good weekend too.

that's a new one

It was for me too; that's why I was really keen to share it ☺️

Pisanga bOM!

Oh my god :)
It's like green tea. Lol

Ha ha, yeah or Matcha tea.

I used to drink green beer on St Patrick's Day when I was in college. It created some interested biological moments the next morning.

Ah, interesting - I haven't participated in celebrating St Patrick's Day for a while, but green pints would fit the theme nicely.

What about Guinness, do you drink that as well?

Actually, I quit drinking seven years ago. But when I did drink, I was more of an economy beer drinker (Miller Genuine Draft) than a stout beer drinker. Although the hotel pub next to where I worked when I was much younger would have specials on mugs of dark beer, and I went through a period of drinking that to break up the routine.

Wow, seven years without alcohol; that's very impressive!

I don't have anything against others who wish to drink, I just know it can be a problem for me. Besides, I already had drank my quota by the time I quite... and quite a few other people's quota too, come to think of it!

you made me come over to your post
so here i am and i have to say
ITS STILL WEIRD and i'm still scared

have my upvote :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80