Beer Review | Lagunitas 12th of Never | American Pale Ale

in #beer6 years ago (edited)

There used to be a time when a weird beer name would turn me off. There used to be a time when if I didn't recognize the beer can I would pass it by. There used to be a time when I wouldn't buy a beer if it wasn't cheap or on sale.

This is not one of those times.


Lagunitas 12th of Never is a beer with a silly name. It's actually kind of expensive too, here in Wisconsin. Still, I've been wanting to try it for a while, so I figured I would splurge.

And thus, we get a little beer review of this American Pale Ale from the formerly independent Lagunitas Brewing Company in California, now part of the Heineken conglomerate.

Purple can, a bottle cap (maybe an apology to the anti-can crowd?), and a red splotch at the bottom right. Oh, and ALE. In case you forgot you were drinking ale, you can remind yourself.


I don't know the history behind the splotch, but I see it on a lot of Lagunitas beers.


Oh, and here's the the best feature of this beer. The pull tab has a splotch cutout. Maybe that's why this beer is so expensive?


Moving on to the actual beer, it pours a typical straw color, nicely carbonated.


Bubbly head that disappears fairly quickly, leaving some rockiness behind that mostly dissipates while drinking.


My Summary:


A really good beer. It's not terribly unique; the description suggests I should be getting coconut and papaya, but I had none of that. Lots of typical citrus and a light malty background. An easy drinker at 5.5% ABV. I'd buy it again...if it wasn't so expensive at about $10 USD for a 6-pack.

Ratebeer Summary:





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.negativereaction.com/2018/07/19/beer-review-lagunitas-12-of-never-american-pale-ale/

Sort:  

@anathema, I gave you an upvote on your post!

If you are interested in claiming free Byteballs ($10+), just for having a Steem account, please visit this post for instructions: https://steemit.com/steem/@berniesanders/claim-your-free-byteballs-today-usd10-in-free-coins-just-for-having-a-steem-account

Hi - This post has been upvoted by an in-development voting bot, which was created for a university project-work!
Please also leave a upvote for me, so that my votes will mean more in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34