CRAFT BEER BARS IN MOSCOW. My Husband's Overview. Part I.

in #beer8 years ago (edited)

My husband (Dutch who lived in the US for about 20 years) and his friend (Russian) go out once a week to have some beer and investigate new beer places. I have seen great posts about German beer and others and was very impressed. I thought it would be interesting if my husband can make the overview around beer bars in Moscow and he liked that idea. Plus he could have one more excuse to go out more often. ))))

This is his overview, part I. Enjoy and join them if you like)))

In Moscow Russia, craft beer bars are popping up left and right. As a Hop Head I can’t tell you how happy that makes me. I lived in California for 20 years and became a genuine Hop Head. I got hooked on the Pale Ales, the India Pale Ales (IPA), Double IPA’s, triple IPA’s, Stouts, Porters and all those other brews that make the American craft beer culture such a great experience. I have written about the Russian craft beer revolution before albeit for someone else posting here on Steemit. (My comment: We didn't know it was for Steemit. There was one guy who paid for writing posts in English. And actually it was how we learnt about this platform after googling text from my husband's articles)))).

This time it’s me writing for myself and I plan to report regularly on the great bars all over Moscow and outside of Moscow. I recently went to Yaroslavl and found two craft beer pubs there that were quite nice….
I would like to get more people interested in craft beers, visit the places I write about and maybe even join me and my Russian friend when we go Hop Hunting. If you are an expat looking for new places to feel at home or if you are Russian wanting to practice your English while trying out new beers, come join us.

The Beer Market

enter image description here
Image Source

The first craft beer bar in Moscow I visited was The Beer Market which is located near Pushkin square on Strastnoy Boulevard. There are more places in Moscow called Beer Market but the one you want is near Pushkin square on a courtyard which entrance is between a Dixie supermarket and a Beeline store. I have visited countless craft beer bars since, but the Beer Market is still the standard I judge the others by. It’s almost like the Holy Grail, or Hoppy Grail, of craft beer bars. The interior is perfect and looks like a genuine American craft beer bar. It has a big selection of quality brews on tap and more in bottles, you can buy tap beer to take home, the prices are very reasonable and the staff knowledgeable. Downside is the one toilet which can cause long lines and “standing in line cuts into your drinking time” as the saying goes. They don’t serve many snacks which can be a necessity when trying many beers but at the same time that very thing keeps it from becoming a full blown restaurant. Now it’s a genuine beer bar where you can try out great beers with like minded beer lovers. Overall it’s a very nice place and definitely worth a visit.

Get Jerry

In that same courtyard you will find two more beer bars. Next to the Beer Market is “Get Jerry”.

enter image description here
Image Source

They have a smaller selection of craft beers, their prices are somewhat higher than the Beer Market and they have a full kitchen so it looks they are more geared towards food than beer.

Craft Station

In the same courtyard across the Beer Market and Get Jerry is a beer bar called “Craft Station”. They recently expanded and offer a food menu. They have a nice beer selection, their prices are good and they have a nice interior. If you want to have some food and enjoy it with a nice craft beer this is a good place to go.

enter image description here
Beer list at the Craft Station bar
Image Source

What I like about the Beer Market is that California feeling to it, their great beers and if you feel like having some food and still want to drink a craft beer you can go next door or across the courtyard!!

As there are many craft beer bars popping up in Moscow there is a lot to write about for me. I will be writing about their beer selection, prices, interior, staff and their location. Are they close to a metro station, are there more bars close by to go Hop Hunting? I am also going to organize trips to micro beer breweries in and around Moscow.

If you are interested to join us in person as an expat or Russian wanting to practice your English let me know, we are happy to meet you and discover those great bars and beers together!!

Sort:  

Hello @aksinya,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Thank you!!!!!!!!! Highly appreciated!

obviously i love such a beer post - adding to #beer-trail too!

Oh! Thank you! If you are in Moscow, join my husband. I bet you have a lot to talk about)))

I wish I could visit Moscow once! Will let you know!

Hi, I'm in Moscow Sep 30 to Oct 4 and would love to join you on a hop hunting expedition. The main purpose of my trip is to discover some great Russian Craft Beers and meet some fellow Craft Beer Drinkers.

COOL!!!!!!!!!!! My husband looks forward to have you around! Are you in steem chat? I hope, you, boys, will take me too?)))

Hello. I have not discovered Steem chat yet. I just signed up for this recently and still figuring it out. Your article brought me here.

Sorry for not answering for long time...we have just come back from Georgia))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.86
ETH 2347.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52