Can you spot the queen? Triple play

Three queen spotting puzzles in one post!

The first one is pretty easy.

GEDC0024.JPG

The weather was just beautiful today, so Rebecca agreed to take some pictures for me as long as she could suit up all the way.

GEDC0014 (640x480).jpg

These hives are called long langs because they accept a standard Langstroth deep frame, but are long enough to hold 30 frames instead of a standard 10. It makes them nice to work because you don't have to lift 90 pound boxes of honey off the top of the hive to get to the brood nest. The bees stay pretty calm with just a little smoke and I didn't get a single sting even though I was only using a veil for protection.

GEDC0029 (640x480).jpg

The queen's abdomen is brightly lit in this picture, which makes her a little easier to find, but there are a lot of bees on that frame. These frames are compatible with standard Langstroth style beehives, but are custom made for foundation-less beekeeping in a long lang.
GEDC0026.JPG

This one is fairly hard. As you are searching you might be able to spot some capped honey, capped brood, an uncapped brood cell, some stored pollen, and several drones.
GEDC0028.JPG

I'm building another hive like these and taking pictures as I go. Follow @professorbromide if you would like the plans for an easy-to-build DIY beehive.

Sort:  

Had a long Lang once never could get much honey off of them, which is weird because I got a couple of top bar hives that do just fine. Still love my 8 frame langs the most, just harvested 8 supers today. Great pics BTW.

I am learning how to manage them for more honey, but it isn't easy. They get honey-bound very quickly. Right now I have three long langs and three standard 10 frame langs.

mine were brood factories though, thought about running a couple to boost splits

I've seen the top bar hives, which look similar to the long langs but without the frames. What climate are you in? Here in Idaho the bees over winter better in a vertical hive. What has been your over wintering experience with the long langs?

We are zone 7a. Our winters are fairly mild, but I did have one hive freeze in March two years ago. A 10 frame lang can overwinter here if it gets a candy board in January. I don't have a problem if I can build up my long langs to 15 frames before November.

Ah, we are zone 4b so our winters are a bit colder :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by professorbromide from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Hi friend, very good !!!!!
You would help me with a vote in my Blog., Thanks !!! ;)

hola, lo siento si lo tomas a mal mi comentario , yo soy de Argentina y no se hablar ingles, uso traductor, no lo hice para que te sintieras ofendida, soy nuevo y trato de aprender., espero no volver a molestarte., que tengas un lindo dia, saludos desde Argentina.

Hello, I'm sorry if you take my comment wrong, I'm from Argentina and I do not speak English, I use a translator, I did not do it to make you feel offended, I'm new and I try to learn. I hope not to bother you again. Have a nice day, greetings from Argentina.

hinata 2.PNG

I am sorry , Nice post

It's fine that you are new and learning, I understand. Just try not to copy/paste comments anymore! Thanks and best of luck!

Never again copy / paste !!!! I like Steemit, answer with inserted images, it gives a more personal touch to my style., Thanks for helping me grow !!!! You have my vote!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66455.53
ETH 3036.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67