Go big, or go home. Big cutout.

in #beekeeping6 years ago


This colony was 3 times bigger than I was expecting.
Super calm bees, I didn't use much smoke.
The home owner says the hive is over 20 years old.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Wow! That is one huge colony :-)

I ended up with 2, 10 frame deeps each with 7 frames of rubberbanded comb one 10 frame deep of sealed honey and about 3 pounds of setteled wax from melted comb.... it's over a foot deep back next to the wall.

This is amazing, I am new to Bee-keeping and they still make me extra nervous. I have one small hive just started. Thanks for sharing this ultra-cool video.

Get yourself some good gear. If you can trust that your gear will keep you from getting stung you can stop worrying about yourself and concentrate on not hurting the bees. Then everyone wins.

I have always wanted to do a cutout like that. What an adventure.

It took most of the day.. And they were super calm about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83