You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Double E Blessed Bee Farm... The Beginnings

One of my neighbors has bee hives, and the honey tastes just like wild flowers. Another old freind of mine in North Carolina keeps bees, and the bees know him- he doesnt have to smoke them, he doesent even wear protection, he pulls apart the frames an rakes the bees off by hand. In the winter, when there isnt any flowers, he puts those giant candy canes out by the hives and the bees land on them and go back to the hive and the honey tastes like peppermint.

Sort:  

I'm not that brave just yet
I have captured swarms without a veil but when working with hives, I always suit up! Ive found that bees can sense your nervousness etc and react acccordingly. I tend to be a bit wound up and excited so theyre not so calm around me. Another factor is most of mine were recoveries so bees tend to be a bit aggressive when you're ripping out their home!
IMG_5125.jpg

IMG_5159.JPG

Ive never tasted a wildflower but if they taste as good as they smell then I am sure the honey tasted good! haha
I'll have to try the candycanes once and see how it turns out. If nothing else the bees will have stellar breath all winter long!!

The small jar on the left has honeycomb, we chew it like gum in the south. The jar on the right is pure honey, run through the centrifuge, not boiled. Out of this world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62847.35
ETH 2464.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64