You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Catching Swarms of Honeybees - Free Bees for Everyone!

in #beekeeping7 years ago

Swarms is definitely the way to do it! That's how I want my first colony! Sadly, there are no the many honey bees out here it seems. I saw them for one week and they've not reappeared since. I've only had this property since December, so I am still working on developing an enticing bee loving flower area. I hope more return in the next year.

But since they were here, the hive cannot be TOO far. I just wish there was a way to tell between a person's hive and a wild hive. Haha

Sort:  

You can follow the bees from their foraging area back to the hive. The process is called bee lining. I tried it once last year with no luck.

I'm going to try again this year. If it works Ill make a post about it.

I've tried for honey bees and yellow jackets. I just lose sight so easily. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48