Bees and Honey - Nature’s Gold!

in #beekeeping7 years ago

What could be better than beautiful raw organic honey? Well, it tastes even better when you have cared for the bees that produce it, knowing they are completely chemical free, healthy and thriving under your stewardship.

I started keeping bees in 2016. I started with 2 hives, now I have 4 hives. 

My first year was a steep learning curve. I had decided to take as natural approach as possible to my bees. I try to avoid toxins and medications for my family and as a homeopath, I always look to nature and homeopathy for solutions to problems. So it made sense to continue that for my bees.

Bees have suffered in the UK as a result of the varroa mite infestations, and the conventional wisdom is that the hive must be fumigated to kill off the mite, but this seemed like a rather radical approach to me. I decided to wait and see how they got on.

Another practice that I was surprised by, was the collection of all but a small amount of honey from the hives. It is usual among beekeepers here, to feed fondant sugar through the winter, to supplement the honey the bees have stored. This seemed strange to me. Why replace their natural food with artificial? Well, apparently it comes down to money. The honey can be sold for profit, and the sugar is a cheap replacement. 

Again, this did not sit well with me. That is like buying the cheapest possible processed food to feed your child, then wondering why they get sick!

Honey is a remarkable substance, with antibacterial and antiviral properties, and a whole host of benefits to bees that we can only guess at.  So why would you take the honey from the bees, fumigate the hive with noxious chemicals, and then feed them a barren sugar fondant providing energy but zero nutrition? 

The honey they store is their food, their medicine, their defence against disease. It is crucial to the survival of the hive. 

When my bees settle down for the winter, I leave them with enough honey to see them through the winter comfortably. I also keep back a jar for each hive, of the honey that particular hive produced, so that, if we have a bad spring or a particularly cold winter, I have an emergency supply to give back to them should they need it.

Bees have survived for millennia without our intervention, so I have adopted an attitude of leaving the bees all the supplies of honey they could need, and trusting that they know how to take care of themselves. A well nourished hive will thrive!

In my first year, our 2 hives gave us 30 jars of honey. This year, the bees in 4 hives provided us with 150 jars!! I am hoping this year to have 5 hives, so there should be plenty to go around this summer!!



Sort:  

Good to hear that people are out there who care for the bees. Good work. I am really fond of raw honey.

I really love my bees! I feel a bit crazy when I find myself talking to them while tending them!! But did you know you’re supposed to tell the bees about births and deaths in the family? There’s some odd traditions with bees!

Interesting, I did not know this.

i look forward to reading your post about those traditions, i expect there is quite a few! I often use the "feeding bees cheap sugar" info when talking to groups about health food and farming! The general public often have no idea what goes on with food production.

You are so right! I was stunned to find most beekeepers seem to do this...it seems crazy!!

Glorious! Good to get to know your hidden talents Catherine!
I love that you use the logic of allowing your 🐝 to protect themselves naturally. That makes so much sense. It’s possibly part of the key to why bees have succumbed to this virus in the UK.

I agree. If you substitute a bees natural food source with an inferior alternative...how can the hive do well? Ours are doing great so far, and I am sure it is because they need less interference than is currently recommended by beekeeping manuals...

And less interfering with bees is a good thing for humans too right? 😂 🐝🐝🐝🐝🐝🐝🐝
Fewer potential stings.

True! I’ve been stung a few times and it really hurts!!

So, that’s not bad for 5 year’s worth of 🐝 keeping! Most of the 🐝 keepers I know are almost immune to being stung now!

Good for you Catherine! Those who are foolishly and cruelly poisoning their own bees for profit are really cutting off their own nose to spite their face. The unhealthy bees can only be bad for humans and so once this is more commonly understood, no-one will buy their honey. Upticked and followed :)

I agree! It seems so crazy! What could be more normal than feeding the bees what they have fed themselves for millennia! x

Amazing!! Natural approach is best <3
Thank you for helping our bees! We have one hive right now, hoping to have 3 this year.

How are you planning your expansion to 3? I am hoping to split one of my hives to create a 5th hive in the early summer...I can't wait to harvest the excess honey! I am down to my last jar!!

I know 2 breeders in the area, I was just going to buy nucs from one of them....I am not sure about splitting yet! Last jar, oh no!!! Spring is coming:):):)

Fantastic!! I have always wanted to keep bees, it's been a dream of mine since I was a very little girl and I had an opportunity to visit a friend who is a beekeep. One day.... one day :D
d

Definately one day! Soon! They are the only pet that can produce something so divine!!!
😊

I like that you care enough about your bees that you leave them enough food for the winter. To me, this makes all kinds of sense.

Thank you! I can’t see the point in feeding the bees something less nutritious than the food they make for themselves! Bees should only eat honey! Glad you can see the sense in that too! Xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58