You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Honey Harvest Turns Into Swarm Capture

in #beekeeping7 years ago

Nope, no way, not gonna do it. Not even with boots, full length jeans, taped closed at the bottom. Long sleeved shirt, covered with a leather jacket. gloves taped to the jacket. I know I've seen a few of your vids, read a few of your blogs and other blogs about bees, but no way in hell on a ladder in shorts and a short sleeved shirt. Still glad there are some people that do the bee think. I just love our local, down the street honey.

Sort:  

It is understandable to be anxious about that much bee activity, but I didn't get a single sting during the video even though I was shaking them and brushing them with my bare hands.

The funny thing is that I got stung three times earlier in the day when I was just refilling the feeders on a different hive. They colony has a mood that you can sense when you get the hang of it. Sometimes you can scoop them up in your bare hand and they will purr like kittens. Other times you crack the lid and they light you up like a Christmas tree.

WHen a swarm is looking for a new home they are totally focused on that and do not sting. Bees are the single most interesting creatures.

light you up like a Christmas tree

That was funny. Like I said glad someone does it, I like honey.

Never been stung by a swarm. Unless I pinched a bee. I also never use a vale for them. You will see me working my bees in my video with no vale and no smoker. It's based on audited and smell. Don't however recommend that my students not ware a vale and I will also as they are just learning to work them so there will be riled up bees in the beginning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69344.89
ETH 3347.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74