Spanish Beef Pie

in #beefpie7 years ago

spanish-beef-pie.png

Easter just passed and we got together and had a fun family day for the kids. We actually did a potluck lunch which is perfect for everyone because it evens out the work and gives plenty of time to have fun and mingle. I had planned fun activities and crafts to do with kids, my favorite activity was the scavenger hunt because I thought it was the funniest. It was a lot of fun watching them trying to figure out the clues to their next egg. Even my teenager enjoyed it.

I had thought about what I was going to bring to the table and wanted to make something in a large batch, something that wouldn't keep me on the stove for a long time. I remember my mother-in-law had made some savory beef pies for New Year's Eve and they were so delicious, so I went ahead and recreated my own version. I took the famous 'empanada' merged with my mother in-law's beef pie and created this recipe, Spanish Beef Pie.

I made the beef the night before and stored it in the fridge, which helped because setting up the activities took some time. Easter day I just put the pie together and baked. Let me tell you it was definitely a quick and satisfying crowd pleaser. So much so that my boys requested another this past weekend. Try it at your next gathering, you won't be disappointed.

Recipe

Makes one 9 inch pie

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 lb. ground beef
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 medium potato, peeled and finely diced
  • 1/2 cup Spanish olives, sliced in half
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1 tablespoon Worcheshire sauce
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 2 tablespoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon cumin powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 pastry doughs (9 inches)

Pie dough

Makes one pie shell

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 8 tablespoons cold butter, cut into cubes
  • 3-5 tablespoons ice water

Whisk the flour and salt. Cut the butter in using a mixer, food processor or your fingers and mix until it resembles a coarse meal. Add 3 tablespoons of ice water and mix, the dough should come together when squeezed. Add additional water 1 tablespoon at a time if needed. Fold the dough and shape into a disk. Wrap with saran wrap and chill 30 minutes.

Directions

  1. In a large pan heat 1 tablespoon of oil over medium heat. Sauté the onion and potatoes for about 10 min until the potatoes are almost soft. Add the garlic and cook for another 2 minutes. Add the beef and cook stirring frequently until the meat is no longer pink, drain any excess fat. Add the olives, ketchup, Worcheshire sauce, tomato paste, paprika, cumin, oregano, flour and salt and cook covered for 15 minutes.
  2. Roll out one of the pie doughs and arrange on a 9-inch pie plate. Fill with the meat mixture. Roll out the remaining pastry dough and place over the filling. Tuck and seal the edges. Cut slits on the top of the pastry to allow ventilation. Bake at 400 degrees for about 25 minutes or until golden brown. Let it sit for a few minutes before cutting.

dough-spanish-beef-pie.png

photo.JPG

prepping-spanish-meat-pie.png

prepped-spanish-beef-pie.png

baked-spanish-beef-pie.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62311.78
ETH 2418.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67