What are you putting on your skin?

in #beautycounter7 years ago

Hi everyone! I know that this site probably contains more males than females but I'm hoping to still reach out to anyone and everyone willing to listen and hope that you guys share this info with your girlfriends/wives. :)

Several months ago I was introduced to a new skincare line called Beautycounter. I had never heard of it so I decided to research it and I must say I was very impressed with their mission as a company and I’ve come to learn that their products are absolutely wonderful! In the past, as a general rule, I would try to avoid parabens in all of my skincare products since research shows it causes cancer. But other than that, I really didn't know what was considered "good" or "bad."

Here are some fun facts (and by fun I mean TERRIFYING) about the beauty industry:
• The United States has introduced over 80,000 chemicals since WWII and only 10% of those chemicals have been tested for safety.
• The European Union has restricted or banned 1,400 harmful chemicals and ingredients from personal care products. In Canada, the number of restricted ingredients is about 600. The United States? Only 30 have been banned. That means there are thousands of ingredients commonly used in U.S. skincare products that are banned in the E.U.. Read that again. Thousands of ingredients commonly used in the U.S. are banned in the E.U.
• These toxic chemicals may cause chronic health issues, messing with your hormones, potentially causing infertility, and are linked to cancer as well.

I'll share with you a list to help make it easier for you to know what ingredients you should always avoid, no matter what brand you use.

http://www.beautycounter.com/the-never-list/

The Never List™ is made up of more than 1,500 questionable or harmful chemicals that we never use as ingredients in our products. This includes the over 1,400 chemicals banned or restricted in personal care products by the European Union, plus additional chemicals screened by Beautycounter and found to be of concern.

Beautycounter has both a skincare line and a make-up line that focuses on eliminating those harmful chemicals while still being effective products. I know that it can feel overwhelming to think about switching out ALL of your skincare and make-up but you don’t have to do it all at once. Beautycounter also has products for the entire family. Kids shampoo and body wash, baby wash, diaper rash cream, sunscreen for the whole family and many more products!

Whenever I feel like it doesn't really matter, I remind myself that what I put ON my body is just as important as what I put IN my body. What you put on your body is absorbed into your body and impacts your health too. I don't think everything that's NOT Beautycounter is bad, but I've definitely been surprised by some brands that I thought were "good."

If you like what you’ve heard and are interested in learning more or getting started with some safer skincare products for you and your family, visit my website! :)

http://www.beautycounter.com/ashleyyarbrough

Reference:
https://www.beautycounter.com/

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! You should do an introduction post to let people know who you are. It'll get you noticed a little more. I am all about natural products and would like to hear more?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58012.92
ETH 3065.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24