💋Pushing for adoption one relationship at the time: the Makeup analogy 💄

in #beauty8 years ago (edited)

It was one of my lovers who first introduced me to cryptocurrencies, I used to be able to speak for hours with him about the many possibilities of the technology since he is a computer geek. This new girlfriend that I am with couldn't care less about computers, politics, or anything that doesn't give her an immediate gratification sensation.

i dont own image

Coming to this realization about her personality made me doubt the future of our relationship. I want the people around me to be concerned about the choices we make because our future depends on it. The first time I saw her throwing trash out of the car window I thought about asking her to pull over and let me out of the vehicle, I wanted to end it right there, but all my stuff was in her house and it would be hypocritical of me to say I have never contributed to contamination. Later that night she went down on me which made me forget about the trash for a moment...

But I couldn't forget about it forever. I could not get it out of my head that even though I knew she had the potential to understand cryptocurrencies she was not interested, as she was not interested in other things I find important. I was struggling with these thoughts when she came up to me and asked me what I thought about her makeup, she had spent about an hour putting it on along with the $40 she spent on the tools. I couldn't believe she was asking for my opinion since I had been clear that the way I see it makeup is nothing but paint for the face, and I was also clear in that I thought she was spending too much on these powders.

13612233_1769710613247313_3153774803456044949_n.jpg

The problem is that I also knew she wasn't interested in me bitching about her expenditure, however wasteful it may be for me. She was just trying to get me to recognize her effort and validate what could very well be art in her eyes, she did go to cosmetology school after all. While I was stressing over my lover not understanding me she was probably stressing about me not understanding her. I begun to accept the fact that if I want her to stay in my life I need to accept makeup, but what could possibly make me take interest in expensive face paint?

As I asked myself that question it came to me clear as the day, the perfect analogy for someone who uses Facebook to get into giveaways by massively inviting people to groups and thinks by sharing pictures of money some will magically land on their bank account.

"Why don't you and your girlfriends get together to buy a makeup factory?" I asked her in a no-big-deal tone. She looked at me intrigued and before she could say anything I continued "If each of you are spending $100+ a month for this stuff and expect to continue doing it through your lives, buying collectively a makeup company seems like a good investment. By using cryptocurrencies everyone can contribute easily and safely to buy the factory and since you'd be the owners you'd also have control over the products that are manufactured."

i dont own image

I could see it in her eyes, I finally had her attention. I was excited but I had to control myself to keep any technical language from coming out since I had understood it was this way of speech that had initially made her believe the subject was not to her interest. She just didn't see a way in which the technology could help her in her personal desires and it took me a while to realize that.

I thought by telling people about the promise of a better world in my eyes would be enough, but it turns out my version of a better world is not shared by everyone. There will even be some who will not let themselves believe in your version of a better world because it's too beautiful to be true, even if they wish the world could look like that, they fear the idea of something so good could create disappointment if the reality is any different.

You may not be afraid to dream, but some people are. Some people have a hard enough time getting around things as they are, they have made great efforts to adjust to this world so you can't sell them on a completely different one. To change someone's world you first need to get familiar with the world they live in, which may not be the same world you live in.

Sort:  

Hi, I recently started to work as a curator for the Streemtrail project, taking care of the “business” category. I would suggest to make the first tag of your post (also known as main tag) “business” if you want your post to be considered for submission in that category. As more moderators will join in, there will also be subcategories, like “business/trading”, “business/bitcoin” or “business/marketing”. Also, make sure to correctly cite the source for your pictures or citations from other authors, if you want to increase your chances for submission. Thank you! Your efforts will help Steemit become clearer and stronger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44