My microblading journey...was it worth it?

in #beauty7 years ago

You may be asking yourself....what on earth is microblading?! Is it like roller blading with smaller skate wheels? Is it similar to pro wrestling blading where wrestlers cut them selves without the crowd seeing & pretend it was the result of wrestling (eww)? As interesting as these may seem unfortunately the answer is NO!

Microblading is actually the practice of eyebrow tattooing. Only with an actual blade as opposed to a tattoo machine. Strokes are made with the blade that mimic eyebrow hair. It is semi-permanent and depending on your skin it may last anywhere from 1-3 years. The cost is $350-$800 depending where you go.

Here begins my journey with microblading. I didn't have super thin eyebrows but they weren't full either & full eyebrows was what I wanted.
image.jpeg

This was how I usually drew my eyebrows with makeup.
image.jpeg

So I went ahead and made an appointment. First, I was asked if I'd like to draw my own outline or have it done by the microblader. I chose to do it myself and here's how it looked.image.jpeg

Next some topical numbing cream was put on my eyebrows with plastic wrap on top and I sat there for about 15 minutes.
image.jpeg

After that she started drawing strokes with the blade on my eyebrows. You can hear the blade so it's kinda creepy....it makes a noise that sounds similar to a zipper being zipped which is odd. To be honest the numbing cream did nothing for me 😳 It wasn't too bad though it was like a really annoying stinging pain. This took about 25 minutes per brow. After she put the pigment on top. It looked absolutely hilarious!
image.jpeg

The pigment had to sit for about 20-30 minutes. After that she washed it off and BAM I had full eyebrows!
image.jpeg

The picture above was immediately after. I got a bit scared because it looked super dark! However once it was fully healed (took about a week and a half) it looked super natural. No one could even tell they weren't real eyebrow hairs.
image.jpeg

And here I am 1 year later and they're now faded.
image.jpeg

Would I do it again? Absolutely I plan on doing it soon. Though it did fade after a year they were going strong for about 9 months. I wouldn't want permanent eyebrows anyway because my eyebrow style seems to change here and there.

Did I still wear eyebrow makeup? Yup! If I had full face makeup it looked weird without it. However most days I either don't wear makeup or I go for a more natural look which these brows came in handy with.

Hope I was able to help! If you have any questions feel free to ask☺️

Sort:  

Congratulations @skaylap! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @skaylap! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

By exploring the broader theme of microblading in HM beauty , you can discuss the procedure's principles, benefits, the considerations involved, and what others should know if they are contemplating a similar journey. This way, your journey can serve as a valuable anecdote within a broader context, offering both personal insights and educational information to those interested in microblading. It's a great way to provide a comprehensive view of the topic and help others make informed decisions on whether it's worth it for them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87