Creamy silky body butter recipe!

in #beauty7 years ago

For those of us who love to pamper ourselves but don't want to spend money on expensive body butters (or the chemicals they are loaded with), I give you my favorite body butter recipe.
I have very sensitive skin so I needed something that would re-hydrate and pamper my hands after a long day of hand washing and applying anti-everything hand gel. Not liking all the ingredients that came with my favorite butters I decided to make my own body butter and have been hooked ever sense.
While the recipe is simple I do want to state that you should always source your ingredients, be careful when preparing them and of course make sure you are not using anything that may be harmful to you or others. Yes, I do have lawyers in my family, so use at your own risks. lol.

Ingredients:

-2 ounces (4 tablespoons) of bees wax. I will show you the result of both regular and white bees wax.
-4 ounces (1/2 cup) Organic coconut oil
-4 ounces (1/2 cup) Unrefined Shea butter
-1/2 ounces (1 tablespoon) Jojoba oil
-1/2 ounces (1 tablespoon) Sweet Avocado oil
Optional: Vitamin E oil (just a few drops)
This recipe yields about 1 pint (2 cups) of body butter. Feel free to cut or double the recipe if you need to.

IMG_0370.JPG

I use a glass bowl to put the Shea butter and coconut oil in. I can then place the bowl over a pot of heated water on my stove to make a double broiler effect. This is to melt these ingredients as they are solid at room temperature. Make sure your bowl is sturdy and not wedged into the pot to avoid pressure buildup.
IMG_0372.JPG

Use low heat to melt your oils and wax to avoid burning them.
When the oils and the wax are completely liquid , remove from heat and add your avocado and Jojoba oils.

IMG_0374.JPG

Our next step is to mix our butter up! I like to mix for about a minute.
Note: You do not need a mixing wand or blender to mix up the butter but it makes it go by a lot faster.
IMG_0380.JPG
Give your mixture a chance to rest and start cooling down. I will give between 10 - 20 minutes depending on how large my batch is. Once the mix has had a chance to rest i give it another minute of mixing.
IMG_0454.JPG
If you do not have a pourable bowl you can let your mixture start to firm up before transferring it to your jars.
doesn't look smooth at first...
IMG_0455.JPG
But once it has set...
IMG_0465.JPG
It is totally worth the effort. I let my butter sit overnight before use. Then its on!!

These pictures are for the same recipe but I used bleached bees wax (meaning the wax was exposed to the sun in thin sheets to whiten the wax).
I used my glass measuring cup for this batch. The end product was just as creamy but is white.
Melt and combine,
IMG_0516.JPG
Mix,
IMG_0517.JPG
IMG_0519.JPG

and pour.
IMG_0521.JPG
Look how lovely this is! It feels even better!

IMG_0523.JPG

I love applying this post shower and feel it soak into my skin. With this body butter a little bit is all you need for hydrated and soft skin!
Please let me know if you liked this recipe.
Comments and up-voting welcomed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62