The Korean 10 Step Skincare regimen

in #beauty6 years ago (edited)

10 step programme- get on the korean hype train

Remember the ten step routine is rooted in being gentle and being kind to your skin.

Step 1: Cleanse with an oil based cleanser.
The double cleanse is the backbone of Korean beauty routine. Comprising of first washing your face with an oil based cleanser- which helps remove oil based impurities: makeup, sebum, sunscreen and all extra grime.5FAE6C34-3E4D-4DB5-AEA7-69CBAF2F98A5.png

Step 2:
The nest step in the double cleansing routine- washing with a foam based cleanser. Basically this helps get rid of water based impurities and whatever is left on your skin- sweat, dirt.
The only thing that’s important in selecting a water based cleanser is that it should be gentle- a neutral or low ph is the best!

(I mostly skip this step in the morning as my skin is clean from the night before)48DDBA03-07B0-40AA-BF2D-E44CF313819C.png

Step 3:
Exfoliate
All exfoliators help clean out the build up of dead skin cells and grime that has been building up.
I usually do this 2-3 times a week. But really depends on your skin type and your lifestyle. I cycle 20km everyday and there is a ton of buildup from sweat and exposure to the environment. But definitely limit it to once a week for those with sensitive skin.
I wouldn’t recommend daily exfoliation to anyone, unless you work in a coal mine.
Don’t hesitate exfoliate !!!!73DCDA24-52C8-4240-88A7-A2D82077C19B.png

Step 4:
Toner
Toners aim to balance and prep the skin for the steps to come. I gently tap it into my skin right after the double cleanse. I hate using cotton pads to apply, coz I cant shake off the feeling that I’m wasting some of the toner when it gets soaked into the cotton pad.
Also remember its all about being gentle- so tap it in, don’t rub it in.EE1044EF-EB50-447D-B35C-57EAD6A6A4C2.jpeg

Step 5:
Essence
If the double cleanse is the backbone of the routine then essence is the soul.
Gently pat it in after toner.
To decide the best toner for you- head out to my post on essences (is that even a word) and how to pick the best one for you.123C0F69-8CEA-4FA6-B081-1B2596B87A04.png

Step 6:
Serums/ ampoules/ booster
They go by many names but they have the same underlying goal - a strong dose of an active ingredient to treat a specific problem.
My fave serum remains the Mizon snail intensive repair ampoule.63FF27FF-F5AD-4F50-974F-08A0DF1AD2D6.jpeg

Step 7:
Sheet masks
You’ve definitely seen pictures of your friends using these Instagram. well sheet masks are what their name suggests Sheets ( made of bamboo based, cellulose, cotton etc) infused with serum that you apply on you face like a mask for a short period.

Think of these as a booster dose, delivered to get instant results and enhance the underlying treatment.
There are million different ones available and you can depending on your skin needs. I have a plethora of these- some for when my skin is dry n parched, some for fine lines, others for brightening.

Step 8:
Eye cream
If your gonna put so much effort into you face, you might as well take care of the skin around your eyes.
Don’t forget, you’ll thank me when you end up saving money that you would Botox for your crows feet.
Ooo n i keep mine in the refrigerator, coz I like that cooling sensation i get when i apply it.

Remember using an eye cream now is cheaper than getting Botox for your crows feet later on.157ECB96-012B-4049-9BA0-CA1C4C831826.png

Step 9:
Moisturize:
Well this one is self explanatory- moisturize your skin
Some Korean brands tend to call them sleep masks- its just branding they are heavy duty moisturiser. I mean sleep mask sounds way fancier than just moisturiser!
I tend to use a lighter moisturiser during the day and a heavier moisturiser; sorry “ sleeping mask” for at night.96E6B9EF-9000-4D02-B74E-DE0220AE7594.jpeg

Step 10:
Sun protection/ B.B. creams
If your not using sun protection then you should-
Sun damage is the biggest cause for most of skin problems(okay not acne)- uneven skin tone, dullness, hyper-pigmentation, wrinkles.

Oh and if your thinking-I’m a person of color do I really need it: YES!!! Those UV rays don’t discriminate.
My moisturiser is SPF15/30... do I need another layer of sunscreen? :YES!!! (Apparently the SPF in ur B.B. / C.C cream/ make isn’t enough)
Do I need sunscreen when its cloudy ?: YES!!!

So you better lotion up!!!

Now if the 10 step routine doesn’t seem extensive enough, here’s more

Mists:
Help the skin stay hydrated throughout the day and maintain that Dewey glowing look.

B.B. cream/ CC cream:

Cover up imperfections and moisturize my skin at the same time? Take all my money !!

Face masks;
Deep clean you face, plus its like spa time for me- at home.FAD3B189-2F85-4E7A-BCB5-8CFBA0147DC3.jpeg

oh my ghosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59608.09
ETH 2475.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46