Kirkland Minoxidil 5% Topical Solution – My Experience

in #beauty7 years ago

(If you would like to see my original blog post on this, go to my website: http://www.stopprematurehairloss.com/kirkland-minoxidil-5-topical-solution/)

Kirkland Minoxidil 5% Topical Solution – My Experience

This is the best over the counter drug to combat hair loss and promote hair growth

Where to get Minoxidil: http://amzn.to/2nWx2S4

My Kirkland Minoxdil 5% Topical Solution experience in 5 words:

This Stuff Really Fucking Works…

That really is the main message I want to get across with you guys right of the bat.

I will never peddle a bullshit product.

Especially when it relates to something as serious as going bald.

There are so many “natural hair growth” products out there, that it may seem like all hair growth/hair loss prevention products are just scams.

Well this is not the case. I know from first hand experience, only a handful amount of products really work to grow hair, one of them includes the ingredient Minoxidil.

Although Minoxidil does work and is amazing, it can come with a few side effects. Now, none of these side effects are really that serious but they can be annoying (Please speak to your doctor if you are concerned however), some of them can be fixed which I will talk about soon.

This is the general lists of side effects one can experience, but I will only be talking about my personal side effects in detail in this post.

Potential Side Effects

►scalp irritation;
►shedding (temporary);
►unwanted growth of facial hair;
►chest pain, fast heartbeats;
►swelling in your hands or feet, rapid weight gain;
►a light-headed feeling, like you might pass out;
►headache, dizziness, confusion; or.
►flushing (warmth, redness, or tingly feeling).

With that said, I will be talking about my experience using Kirkland Minoxidil 5% Topical Solution which consists of:

  1. The beginning of my Journey
  2. My Personal Side Effects
  3. The biggest Negative of using Minoxidil
  4. The greatest Positive of using Minoxidil

(To see my full Journey with pictures first, go here. http://www.stopprematurehairloss.com/hair-loss-prevention-regimen/
You can come back to this post after you check that out.)

The beginning of my Journey

I first started using Minoxidil when I was 18 years old in the Summer of 2015.

During this time of my life, I was a college student at my local community college taking an “Introduction to Public Speaking” course. (One of the general education requirements for the CSU/UC system.)

Hats were a staple to my everyday up until this point of my life.

It’s common wisdom that a lot of guys cover their hair with hats to hide receding hairline up with a hat cough Bradley Martin cough.

And truthfully, I was one of those guys at the time. I would wear hats (specifically snap backs) so that I could hide the fact that I was losing my hair.

Although I didn’t like to admit that fact to myself at the time, it was definitely true.

Anyways, I remember in the beginning of the semester the professor told us how among other clothing accessories, hats were not allowed during these presentations for professional reasons.

And up until this point I was using Minoxidil for about a week or two, right around the same time I was experiencing the excess amount of shedding.

So put frankly my hair looked like shit but I had no choice in the matter, I had to stop wearing my hats and not give a fuck moving forward. (I still wear hats when I want to, I just don’t rely on them anymore.)

Although my hair did slightly get better over the course of that 6 week semester, it wasn’t enough time to truly realize a significant difference.

Either way, that was the time of my life where I got over my hair problem psychologically, although it still wasn’t great at the time, I saw the light at the end of the tunnel so to speak.

With that said, here are the side effects I personally experienced:

My Personal Side Effects

Side Effect #1 Excessive Shedding

Now this is a very common side effect, the majority of guys that use Minoxidil will experience the side effect of excessive shedding as I have.

This may sound counter intuitive but Hair Shedding is actually a Positive thing, it is a sign that it is actually working.

And I knew this fact going into this so I wasn’t worried.

But some guys that start using Minoxidil who didn’t do enough research are under the impression that they are going to see noticeable results within a week or two.

They are fooling themselves, in fact you are going to lose more hair than ever during the first two to six weeks of using Minoxidil.

But why is that?

In a nutshell, you are pushing out the old hair follicles, replacing them with new actively growing hair follicles.

Minoxidil works by increasing blood flow on your scalp, which in turn stimulates hair growth.

The reason why this happens is because Minoxidil is a vasodilator. In its oral form, it’s used to treat hypertension, but the creators of Minoxidil also discovered that if it were used topically, it promoted hair growth, go figure right.

Side Effect #2 Itchy Scalp, Flaking, and Redness

This is another common side effect, which most guys experience.

This side effect is really annoying but it can be fixed!

What really causes the Itchiness, Flaking and Redness to happen is the alcohol in the Minoxidil. Alcohol can dry your skin really bad, and a dry scalp can quickly lead to this side effect.

I am especially prone to Dandruff personally.

I have had a life long issue with Eczema, dandruff, and dry skin in general ever since I was a little kid. So the Minoxidil on my scalp just made me have unbearable amounts of Dandruff.

The Minoxidil made it so bad for me, that when I would be wearing a black jacket or black shirt in public, I would find that I was covered in white flakes (dandruff) when I look down. It was pretty embarrassing and gross.

Luckily there is a relatively cheap fix to this, Neutrogena’s T-Gel.

Best shampoo to stop Dandruff hands down. Where to get this shampoo: http://amzn.to/2n0KchN

Coming from someone who possibly had one of the worst cases of Dandruff, this shampoo really solved this issue for me. I no longer have dandruff on my scalp or on my black t-shirts anymore!

I use this shampoo every other day switching between this and Regenepure DR Shampoo.

Side Effect #3 Increased Overall Body Hair

Now this is more of long term side effect, but it was still noticeable for me. Over the course of a few months, I’ve noticed that all over my body, I have been growing more numerous and thicker hair.

Now it isn’t that significant but it is noticeable. Interesting to note, although I have not been using Minoxidil on my face for beard growth, I have noticed that my beard was growing a lot fuller, and I started sprouting cheek hair, something I did not have prior.

This can segway to the topic of using Minoxidil for Beard Growth, however I personally have not done it since I never needed it, but I don’t see why it wouldn’t work.

Facial hair coming in a lot easier nowadays.

Final thoughts on Side Effects

These are the side effects that I have experienced. There are a lot of other side effects that people can experience (as stated in the beginning of the post) but at the end of the day, everyone’s physiology is different, this is just simply what I experienced.

The Biggest Negative of using Minoxidil

Okay aside from the 3 main side effects I experienced, there is one negative thing I have found comes with using Minoxidil.

It’s YOU!

Yes, the biggest negative of using minoxidil is the internal battle you will have with yourself. It is you against you. You can not let the lazy side of you say “I’m too lazy to apply minoxidil right now, I’ll do it tomorrow.”

Stop!

Once you start rationalizing skipping days of application, you will fail! This is something that you have to commit to whether you like it or not. (Unless you want to lose your hair, but if that’s case you wouldn’t be reading this right now.)

Look I understand. There have been so many times where I would be in bed almost ready to fall asleep, then out of nowhere I would remember to myself “Ah shit I almost forgot to put on my minoxidil before falling asleep.”

These moments were serious pain in the asses, but what’s the alternative? Losing my hair? Fuck no! I’m getting off my ass up and applying minoxidil for 1 minute! Then I’ll go to bed. How hard was that?

Look, in order for Minoxidil to work, you must apply it two times every day, period!

Especially if you are still in the first 6 months of using minoxidil. If that is the case then there is absolutely no excuse you have. You must apply it two times every day. Don’t be fucking lazy, SERIOUSLY!

This is actually a situation where you can turn a Negative into a Positive as well!

Sticking to something in pursuit of a goal builds virtues such as:

►Patience
►Discipline
►Determination
►Consistency

These are all virtues that can apply to many facets of your life! So not only are you growing hair, you are also growing some new virtues. It’s a win win!

I want you to commit to applying Minoxidil EVERY DAY, TWICE A DAY no matter what.

I can guarantee you will thank me, and most importantly, YOURSELF in the near future!

The Greatest Positive of using Minoxidil

As I stated in the beginning of the post, Kirkland’s Minoxidil 5% Topical Solution actually works.

This reason, coupled with the potential minor side effects that could come along with it was enough for me to try it out.

But other than that reason, the Greatest Positive I have found with Minoxidil is the Price point:

For $29 every 6 months, that is only $4.83 a month or $0.16 a day. Where to get Minoxidil: http://amzn.to/2nWx2S4

Not a bad deal I would say, and I am a pretty frugal person.

The value I get for the price I pay is pretty unbelievable in my opinion. This is especially true if you are a young person in college who can’t quite afford a hair transplant now.

Final Words

Well that is it for now. This was my honest opinion and experience of using Kirkland’s Minoxidil 5% Topical Solution for the past 1.5 years.

As always, everything I talk about will be coming from my personal experience!

With that said, I hope you got a lot of value and insight from this post. Till next time

-Peace out

-Noel

Social Media

►YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/AdamantRvs81 (Daily Uploads)
►SnapChat: https://www.snapchat.com/add/rivasnoel96
►Twitter: https://twitter.com/BigGumby69
►Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/biggumby69/

Sort:  

Hey guys thanks for checking out my post! Definitely follow me if you like what you see, more information coming soon about preventing hair loss and other interesting things!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51