Beauty on a Budget

in #beauty7 years ago (edited)

Beauty on a Budget

I don't know about you, but I'm a working mom with not much money to spend on myself. I'm also in my 30s with two teenagers, and makeup gives me a boost in confidence. I used to wear makeup daily; then I changed work shifts and that stopped in a heartbeat. Next thing you know, I put some concealer under my eyes and call it good for the day.

I ended up switching jobs and a year later, I was working with younger girls who do the whole sha-bang on a daily basis. (WTH is contouring??) When I needed a change, I got a haircut that I loved (though my husband HATED). How it made me feel was AMAZING! I then decided I wanted more of a boost in myself but didn't have much money to get some cosmetic staples that I would need for a new daily look.

I want to share what I've encountered, and maybe this will help another mom on a budget gain some extra confidence in herself and realize you don't have to spend a fortune to enhance your look.

I'm going to touch on what you can get for as little as possible (with also keeping quality in mind.. too cheap is just bad for your skin). My two favorite stores at the moment? Wal-Mart & the Dollar Tree!

I know what you're thinking... Dollar Tree makeup? That CAN'T be good for your skin! If you get any ol' brand you've never heard of, I'm sure you'll end up regretting it. I only got a couple of my makeup items from the Dollar Tree (some brands are also available at Wal-Mart). Here's a rundown of what I currently use, where I got it from, and how much it was:

1 - Foundation: $7-$10 from Wal-Mart. I use Maybelline Mousse.

2 - Concealer: $2-$3 from Wal-Mart. I use Maybelline Cover Stick.

3 - Finishing Powder: $2 from Wal-Mart, e.l.f. brand.

4 - Eyeshadow palette: It was a gift from my mom-in-law & it's all I use right now! Profusion brand Nude palette.

5 - Eyeliner: $5-$6 from Wal-Mart. I use CoverGirl Perfect Point Plus.

6 - Mascara: $1 from the Dollar Tree! Wet N Wild brand.

7 - Blush: Also $1 from the Dollar Tree! e.l.f. brand.

8 - I remove my makeup with Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water. This is important to remove makeup every single night, sleeping with it in your pores will definitely backfire!

9 - Makeup sponges: $1 from the Dollar Tree. I prefer these over a buffing brush to apply my foundation.

Optional: Lipstick: If I use any, it's Dollar Tree lipstick. ColorMates is the brand I have now.

As you can see, (excluding my eyeshadow palette) I've spent under $20 for all of the makeup that I use.

I apply my makeup in the order I have it listed. It takes only about 10 minutes for a full day of feeling like I look my best!

Feel free to share what works for you! I'm also willing to try out and give feedback on a product you might recommend, if I can get it locally & it's within my budget!

Sort:  

Congratulations @nikilynne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I love going to the Dollar Store or drug stores to get makeup! You can get some amazing items for a bargain.

I am definitely going to look for that Garnier cleansing water next time I go. Thanks for sharing!

I can't believe I left out the store & cost for that one! That was actually at Wal-Mart for $6-$8. But this picture you see is after a month of use. You can tell it will go far!

Congratulations @nikilynne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

In Asia, BB creams/sticks are more popular. So if i ever am in a rush, ill just slap on some BB stick, eyebrows, mascara, cream blusher and tinted lipbalm onto my face. Total time: 20mins. XD

Very interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49