Journey to Clear Skin: My relationship with acne that seems to last longer than my relationship with men

in #beauty7 years ago

steemit post.png
Photo from: https://unsplash.com/@melan_cholia_photography

I have this on-off relationship with acne. Sometimes my skin is clear and smooth that I would get compliments from people around me and sometimes, it would be filled with acne and blemishes that people would try not to stare at it in disgust. Because of this, my confidence level fluctuates as well.

Unfortunately, I have an acne-prone skin I inherited from my father's DNA. He told me he stopped having acne at the age of 25 (I'm 26!). It is visible on his face until this day how much he went through all those acne years. This is the reason why I put a lot of effort in taking care of my skin. I know I cannot avoid acne and pimples but I believe I can prevent acne scars given with today's technology.

Anyway, my relationship with acne started in high school and I wasn't alone because almost everyone in my class had pimples. I started and maintained a daily regimen: facial wash-toner-moisturizer. This routine helped me a lot in avoiding the title of worst pimple breakout face in school.

My skin cleared when I entered college but it broke out again when I moved to Dubai and worked in a soil laboratory. Everything in that office was dusty and dirty so no surprise that my skin got bad. It took me 3 years of trial and testing different skin care products and of course, money to clear my skin again. It actually became my hobby to buy and try skincare products. I also went and met with a dermatologist to receive some treatment because I was not only having breakouts all over my face but I was also having a mental breakdown.

Then I moved to Thailand and surprise, surprise! My skin broke out again! I was fortunate enough to be in a country where skincare products are not that expensive so I was able to try different products without hurting my pocket. I also started taking birth control pills and finally, my skin cleared up. I would still get hormonal acne but it was never that bad as before. This is the point in my life when my confidence level was at its peak.

Unfortunately, I had to move back here in Dubai and also had to stop the pills. My skin broke out as expected and this is what I am dealing with today. I am trying out different products (way better than in the past because of technology), different food due to my new lifestyle and different habits just to gain back that clear skin I once had. It is more challenging now as I am dealing with adult acne that are more difficult to get rid of without leaving a trace.

I will be documenting my journey to clear skin and will be posting reviews of products.
Feel free to recommend skincare products and treatments that worked for you!

Sort:  

Try bentonite clay masks. If you really want to get rid of it, eliminate 100% of the grains and sugar from your diet. Low carb, high fat (coconut oil, avocado), very little protein.

Thank you for your suggestion! I will definitely try to get a hold of those clay masks. I am trying to follow an acne diet but I just can't get myself to stop eating grains (wheat and rice).

Aww, I know that can be frustrating. Here is what helped me solve my issues. First, I wash my face with only spring water... I actually try to avoid soaps on my face. Especially if they have any chemicals in them. I put rice water on my face in the evenings and I'll do an occasional avocado/honey mask :) Good luck! xx <3

Thanks for your suggestion! I have tried washing my face with organic rice water but unfortunately, my skin got worse. Masks are something I always forget to do but will note it down so I will remember them :) Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25