misfit in the land of social media

in #beauty5 years ago (edited)

IMG_6509.JPG

A past roommate spent every single day working on her tan, practicing pouty face poses, and posting on social media. She mystified my friends. Why is she making those faces on the couch....by herself? She had a mission and it made her happy. Social media was her passion. Her odd practices garnered likes.

I'm a misfit in the land of social media.

I was a hopeless cause for my stylish roommate. She wanted to make a project of me, take photos and help me catch a boyfriend but my minimalist approach to cosmetics clashed with her plan. Lotion makes my skin unhappy or angry. I don't always have the needed patience to fiddle with brushes and applicators. And I look at makeup with suspicion. I have good skin days but currently am having a not so good skin day/month/season. I look normal but my face hurts like I have paper cuts all over. It's complicated and it makes my life complicated. No for-ultra-sensitive-skin product passes the JNET test. I need to fudge the beauty standard armed with only mascara, eye liner and MAYBE lipstick. Gah. It's brutal out there. There's armies of contoured, foundationed, highlighted, blown out women.

That's why you will see photos of my shoes or something other than my face to represent me. Hopefully my words and thoughts are interesting and intriguing enough. You're tuning to JNETSWORLD like the heading above...my world and not my face.

My friends who work their social media insist that one's image; one's face is the engine that drives likes. What use is content if you're not attractive to the world? My mind tends to drift at their well meaning advice. As much as there's beautiful and successful people showing us a path that may bring us happiness, there's way too many pretty people and not as pretty people out there broadcasting messages I don't subscribe to.

Have we reached a point where we blur the line of self-love and vanity? Do we no longer discern or make distinction between the two? Am I the only person who feels there's a glaring difference?

I want to write some good to the world but will have to do it minus my visage.

Be beautiful ....inside...and out.

JNET

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JNET from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99