Curiousier and Curiousier! Do It Yourself Deodorant

in #beauty8 years ago (edited)

After trying Tom's lavender deodorant and Crystal's natural mineral salt stick with less-than-stellar results, I have decided to make my own. Although I have heard that allowing your body time to balance its own ph will result in a neutral or less offensive odor, my colleagues may begin to take notice before I reach that state. My current regime is using Thayer's rose witch hazel to remove any lingering scents followed by a little tea tree and coconut oil. This seems to last only hours in humid and hot Southern Illinois. Not to mention that my livelihoods are largely out of doors (I train dogs and install solar panels).

So Steemit community, has anyone experimented with making deodorant? I was thinking of making a baking soda, diatomaceous earth, shea butter, honey, tea tree and  cedarwood deodorant. Maybe adding some coconut oil to make it less of a mud  consistency. However, baking soda is really drying and may be irritating after a  while and I was curious about using bentonite clay or activated charcoal  too. I have some concerns about smelling good as my armpits ooze black sludge though.  As I live off-grid deep in the woods, having to wash every shirt that comes into contact with my underarms is not an option.  

Please respond with any recipes, concoctions or thoughts on the matter.  I would love to hear from you!

Truly,

H

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55826.71
ETH 2298.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39