Embracing our natural African hair

in #beauty7 years ago


This is a painting my daughter did of me with my Afro.
In an earlier post, I wrote cutting my relaxed hair. That was 3 1/2 weeks ago. This is my Afro now.

(I think it has grown a tiny bit..Ha)
I like that she can see me embracing my natural African hair and that it will inspire her not to relax her hair with chemicals . I hope she keeps her hair natural and lets it grow naturally the way God intended.
On this note, I have been reading up on natural hair and watching a lot of YouTube videos. I think it is unfortunate that most people and hair care product companies are taking the mixed race hair to be the ideal natural African hair. That hair is curly and voluminous and long naturally. I don't think women with such hair really struggle with it. They never feel the need to relax it to make it more manageable. I feel that people and especially companies that claim to have products for natural hair should use the authentic, thick, coily African hair to promote their products because that is what majority of us have

No matter what, 4B/4C hair will never look like a 3B/3C. Let the companies embrace this and start advertising their products using such hair instead of giving us unrealistic goals.

Sort:  

Your hair looks just like my daughter's! Your daughter's portrait/painting of you is really good. Such talent.
There is definitely less representation of our hair texture out there.
Good luck in your hair journey, @gacherih !

Oh wow... It does? Thats awesome. Thanks for the encouragement:-)

Oh wow... It dies? Thats awesome. Thanks for the encouragement:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11