New Chapter

in #beauty6 years ago

It was time for a change. After having a conversation with my wife about another day at work, she told me to find something else. "You need something creative, a job that you can express yourself." At 40 what could that be? I have a little college but no degree. I really didn't want to invest time and money into college right now. Then one day while soul searching it hit me. Maybe I could cut hair. This was not a completely off the wall idea because several of my family members were cosmetologist. As a matter of fact I spent a lot of time in hair salons growing up and even considered apprenticing as a cosmetologist years ago.

Now it was time to do a little research. I didn't really want to go down the road of cosmetology. I didn't want to go that in depth with nails and skincare that most cosmetology school have wrapped up in their programs. Barbering maybe... So I started looking more into it. I liked the idea of learning to use a razor instead of learning about skincare and nails. That was the biggest difference for my state. Barber still learn how to do hair color and perms. While specializing in short styles I could still cut long hair. So this looked like the path for me. Now it was time to find a place to learn this skill. After more searching I found a place near me but all the programs that I found were only offering full time programs meaning that I would have to save up to pay tuition, quit my job, and find a part time job. This was going to be more difficult than I thought. One thing that I have not done was discus this new idea with my wife. All this research and soul searching had gone on over a two month period, and while it was looking good to me, I had not ran it by her to get her thoughts. This whole thing could be dead in the water without her support. So one day I told her what I was thinking about doing and told her my thoughts and feelings. I waited to hear her response in anticipation. She said "I can totally see you doing that." There was the whole finance and timing thing that had to be worked out. Shortly after our conversation the main barber school that I was interested in announced that they would be starting part time programs in the future. About a week later they announced evening programs as well. This was the answer to all my prayers. Doors opened at the right times for me to begin this journey. Follow along as I progress along.

Sort:  

Congratulations @barberjake! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @barberjake! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38