Using honey masks for glowing skin | Tried & Tested

in #beauty7 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians!

image

Whether you are male or female (or another, I don't exclude) glowing skin is always nice to have for the summer. From traveling, to being sick and having inflammation, this started to show on my skin. After complaining a little to one of my close friends, they recommended I try a raw honey mask.

As it turns out when I researched a bit further into the properties of honey, it has clinically been proven to contain antimicrobial and antiseptic properties that can clear inflammatory things stuck to your skin leaving you with cleaner and more glowing skin.

image
© bestacnescartreatment.org | a before and after treatment of someone using honey to heal their skin

I normally would by manufactured and processed beauty products to help my skin but only saw that it was in fact doing the opposite and inflaming my damaged skin even more. I then switched to using a raw honey mask daily and I was quite surprised to see that it worked after the first use, since most other products I used would only show change after a few uses. I wanted to share what I've learned about using honey masks!


How to use a raw honey mask

The first thing you need to be aware of, that this stuff sticks to anything like crazy so be careful not to get too messy! I have some local organic raw honey (that was a mouthful) which I transferred to a smaller container to decrease the messiness.

image

Eventhough I did this, I still can't manage to keep the honey from spilling!

image

I use about a small scoop to cover half my face in the honey.

image

I then go ahead and browse through Steemit or read a book for about 10-20 minutes as I wait for the honey to absorb into my skin. Speaking from experience: keep a towel under your head since this stuff might drop onto anything your chin is in range of, trust me I learnt it the hard way by having my keyboard and clothing covered in it.

image

Then I go ahead and use a towel of some sort to slowly wipe it away in a downwards motion, to make sure the honey doesn't get into my hair as it will stick to it.

image

And then you will be left with cleaner, glowing skin and (hopefully) no stickiness left from the honey anywhere.

image


What type of honey to use?

Some people online argue about the types of honey you should be using, but I find this to be getting to complicated.

The main idea is to use raw honey instead of liquid (pasteurized) honey as it contains more of the substances (hydrogen peroxide to name one) that create the healing properties of honey. Some good types of honey that work:

image
© Manuka Health

  • Manuka honey - Stimulates tissue healing to heal blemishes, a bit more pricey IMO, but many people swear by it.

image
© Streamland

  • Thyme honey - the cheaper alternative of Manuka, it also heals blemishes but also moisturizes the skin.

image
© Hungary Bees

  • Acacia honey- has been shown to increase collagen formation and repair wounds, good for easy use.

However, I believe if whatever the type of honey, as long as its made from pollinated flowers by bees, Still will have a strong affect on your skin and that it will vary of course for every skintype how they will experience using honey masks.


Would I do it again?

My final thoughts on this type of face mask is that I would definitely try it again, since I did honestly see an improvement in my skin after using it everyday for a week. The most important thing however is to keep it fun and trying out what works best for your skin.

I would recommend this type of face mask to be used when sick or facing a stressful time, since skin is a direct indicator of your health (spiritually, emotionally, physically) according to many ancient beliefs such as in Chinese medicine.

I hope you try it out and let me know your thoughts on it, I'm excited!


image

Sort:  

Nice tutorial, Ill definitely be trying this out later today

Congratulations @akashaic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @akashaic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66704.41
ETH 3487.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.99