"The Lagoon of Marikaban" - Beautiful Sunday


My Share for #BeautifulSunday initiated by @ace108


Hello again for another part of our adventure on the beautiful Island of Marikaban only here in the Philippines. We have seen the beautiful beach of Masasa, the highest peak Mag Asawang Bato and the enchanting coral reefs of Sombrero Island. Today I will take you with me to a lagoon not far from where we are staying. Come swim with me again and see another popular attraction on the island.


 

The Lagoon of Marikaban



 


 

Visit our previous adventures on the beautiful Marikaban Island:


A Getaway to Marikaban Island

Masasa Beach

The Difficult Trail to "Mag Asawang Bato" (Couple Rock)

Kissing the Sky "Mag Asawang Bato"

Underwater Love "Sombrero Island"

The Hidden Treasure of the Island "Sepoc Beach"

You could also watch and subscribe to our video episodes on the links below:


Masasa Adventure Episode: 1 "Gateway to Marikaban Island
Masasa Adventure Episode: 2 "The Beach"

Masasa Adventure Episode: 3 "Mag Asawang Bato (Couple Rock)"

Masasa Adventure Episode: 4 "Sombrero Island"

Masasa Adventure Episode: 5 "Sepoc Beach Caves"

 


Just a few minutes away from our lodging, our host Mama Nady told us about this place on the first day we arrived. Now is the time to see it for ourselves. Along the way, we saw Mama Nady's other room accommodation. In this area, you could rent Philippine native huts called "Bahay Kubo" which is made from bamboo, coconut lumber and coconut palm leaves. Although this is further away from the main beach this place is quieter and has a better view.


We walked further on this trail to reach the lagoon and here you could see huge boulders on the side. This may have rolled off a long time ago but it made me look up the mountain. I'm pretty sure they have checked the mountainside for any loose rocks since this is a tourist site.


Another boulder but this one has grass and plants growing on it already.


The trail going to the lagoon is cemented and motorcycles could even pass through this area.


Just around the bend the rock formations and the twin lagoon appeared before our eyes. During high tide, this area is fully submerged in water and you wouldn't be able to come down here. Lucky for us the tide is just right for us to enjoy the place.


Now everyone went around to find their spot to take some photos. I love taking photos of the family which always leaves me out of the picture. I don't like having my photo taken, I prefer taking photos instead. I rarely have photos of me during our travels.


My brother in law and his fiancee always having a good time and I must say they are a perfect couple. Never have I seen them in a foul mood as they are always joking around and cheerful.



 

 

I love fishing and I wish I brought along with me my fishing rod. This is something that escaped my mind and I wish I could join the fishing guy while waiting for a bite. I asked him if he caught anything yet. Unfortunately, he hasn't caught anything yet for the past hour.



Now my daughter is already getting ready for her pictorial. Of all the subjects in photography, she is my favorite and my inspiration to get better.


Always with a smile, she knows how to pose, changing poses every shot. I'm not sure where she got her moves but she is a natural and can adapt to every environment.


We took more than around 100 photos of her and if I recall she never tires getting her photo taken.


We walked a little further and followed this sandy trail. Looking for a good spot to take more photos. We found this area with plants and flowers growing on the rocks and on the side of the mountain. It feels like that we are again exploring and uncharted island.



We found this sandy area and looks like a great place to set up camp and start a bon fire. But on this island bon fires are not allowed as it destroys the sand according the the Department of Natural resources. Anyway we took a couple of photos and headed back as we wanted to take a swim in the lagoon.


We headed back to re group with the family walking back this trail along the mountain side.



When we got back on site the weather changed drastically and rain clouds were headed our way. Most of the people left but we are here to swim in the lagoon rain or shine.


The dark clouds were coming in fast and rain drops were beginning to fall.


Only my daughter, brother in law and me was so eager to take a dip. The rest of the family sat and waited at the side of the mountain.


The moment we jumped into the water, it began to rain and somehow it added to the enjoyment of our swim. I'm not sure if any of you feels the same way some times but it was like more fun having a swim when it is raining.


It rained harder and the horizon was getting hazy because of the rain. I never really thought about it during this time since I am watersnake101 but looking at the photo makes you imagine there there could be sea monsters lurking during this weather. Maybe I just watch to much monster movies to have crazy imaginations.



My brother in law always trying to do crazy stunts and I am always there to stop him. I always tell him to think first before doing anything crazy as the rocks are slippery during this rain.


The rain stopped for a little while and there was silence and I asked if they want to leave already.


Suddenly it rained again and like the sound of a beat it made us stay a little bit longer to party in the rain. The water was cold and was raining hard but we didn't mind as the lagoon has enchanted us. Enjoying every moment that we have here as the next thing you know you are back to reality.


Not everyday you could enjoy the rain while soaking up in crystal clear turquoise water. I really envy the people who live here as they get to enjoy the beauty of an island paradise everyday. Whether rain or shine it always seems to be perfect. Maybe yet, I am destined to live on an island like this. Maybe not now, not tomorrow but one day my time will come to spend the rest of my life living on an island paradise.


Thank you for joining me today and I hope you enjoyed seeing how we spent our time at the lagoon. If you loved this episode please look forward to the video version of this episode which I will be uploading very soon.

Thank you again and have a very #beautifulsunday everyone.


 


 

Visit and follow @steemitbloggers AKA #powerhousecreatives. A community that is exceptional, talented and engaging.


Leaving a mark in our beautiful world with @steemitworldmap and @travelfeed

All photos are original and taken with

Panasonic Lumix GX85 with 12-32 mm kit lens


and Canon Powershot D20

 








Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://watersnake101.steemblogs.club/2020/02/16/the-lagoon-of-marikaban-beautiful-sunday/

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=watersnake101
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=thelagoonofmarikaban-beautifulsunday-t2rvlc5gb5


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @ewkaw on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Another amazing adventure of yours!

Rock formations are truly fascinating - especially when influenced by water!

Thanks @jaynie rock really turns into something like an art form when exposed to water over the years. I'm running out of adventures lol. Maybe need to plan another trip very soon.

Sounds like a good enough excuse to create some more memories! :)

I guess many people who go there need to take photos on one of the two big rocks as proof.

Hahha yeah that big rock is the spot. I should have take a shot with me in it lol. Thanks @ace108

You're welcome.
Now, you have to go back.

It sounds quite fun to swim in the rain! Although most possibly I'll skip it because I really don't like the cold... I don't even use the air conditioner for most of the times LOL. But the beach is very beautiful and it really seems like a good place to sit down and chill all day :)

Yeah it's a perfect place to just sit around a do nothing. Ideas and creativity flows out like crazy in places like these. I'm sure you could handle the cold once you jump it the temperature gets better.

Love to see the adventures continue. Nice shots! I totally get it that you prefer not showing in the photos. Whenever I travel, I am always behind the camera taking photos of others and seeing almost everything through the lens.

That is great now I don't feel alone lol. Even though we are not in the photos we know the stories behind each snap that we take. Now let's go out there and take more photos hahah.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94