Beautiful Sunday | 美丽星期天 | Worcester art museum | Worcester 艺术博物馆

Today was sunny and still cold, low 30's. My husband and I decided to spend some time in the art museum in Worcester. We had never been there before, sounded like there were some events going on.

It was around 50 mins ride from home. Worcester seems to be an old city, there are a lot of brick old buildings in that area, wondering what kind of industry is in there. Would definitely want to go back there in Summer and walk around.

The museum has 4 levels, each level has different gallery and theme. The first level is about medieval, Egyptian, Asian and Roman exhibitions. 2nd level is about rotating exhibitions and European Renaissance court. 3rd level is about American and art since mid 20th century. and the 4th level is about pre-columbian and American exhibitions.
IMG_8373.JPG

IMG_8377.JPG

IMG_8364.JPG

IMG_8378.JPG

IMG_8380.JPG

You get the chance to see so many types of China, pottery, jewelry, painting, sculptures and furniture. One of the main theme is about knight, the arms and the stories. There are some reproductions where you can actually try them and be a knight yourself. I put the helmet on, it's so heavy that I can barely keep my head up. Can you imagine wearing it in the war? and the chain mail and weapons etc. Can you imagine putting on 50-60 lbs of arms and have to fight in the field?

IMG_8370.JPG

IMG_E8358.JPG

IMG_8368.JPG

IMG_8355.JPG

IMG_8379.JPG

What impressed me the most are all the paintings, they are such masterpieces, on each characters, you can clearly see all the details including veins. The fruits and trees, landscape has perfect combination of shadow, light, color, etc. It must have taken the artists years of practice to be able to master that. Leonardo's masterpieces are among one of them.

IMG_8374.JPG

When we walked into modern world where they display abstract paintings, I was lost. I can't barely understand what I am supposed to see. Some are a little better to understand, some are completely no clue.

One of the event is showcase some paintings and instruments from Tang dynasty of China. Following the painting stories to feel the love and high musical talents of the emperor(Tang Ming Huang) and Yang Guifei. As Chinese, I know some Chinese culture and history of Tang Dynasty, wandering in that gallery made me a little bit like home.

IMG_8381.JPG

It was such a good way to relax yourself and enjoy the beauty and cultures of ancient time. I am learning pencil drawing, my husband suggested me to take some professional classes when we were at the museum. I have been practicing by myself following books, he can see my improvement, he thinks I can better my learning taking classes from real person and artists. Something to consider down the road.


今天虽然还是比较冷就30 几度,可是阳光明媚。所以我们决定去艺术博物馆。 之前没去过Worcester。听说那里最近有一些活动。

那里离家大概50 分钟左右的路程。 Worcester看上去是个比较老的城市。 很多混凝土/石砖的建筑。不知道哪里主要是什么产业在支撑。 夏天的时候我们一定会再回去走走四处看看。

博物馆由4 层楼,每层是不同的展厅和主题。 第一层是中世纪,埃及,亚洲,罗马的展台。2 楼市旋转展厅和欧洲文艺复兴时代的展物。 3 楼市美国馆和20 世纪中的产品。4 楼是前哥伦比亚河美国展。

在这家博物馆里你可以看到很多各个时代的陶瓷,珠宝,雕塑,绘画,和家具等。主要的一个主题是骑士文化。博物馆还复制了一些设备供游客体验。我把头盔戴到头上,重得我头都快抬不起来。你可以想象在战场上,士兵穿着几十斤重的盔甲,那是什么样的场景。

各种时代的喷漆绘画是让我印象最深的。很多名人的作品,包括达芬奇的。 那技术真是高超。画人物的时候,对细节的淋漓尽致的诠释,连毛细血管都画得清清楚楚的,跟真的一样。那些水果,花朵,树木,风景,完美地结合了光,阴影和色彩。让人目不转睛,仿佛身临其境。

当我们走到现代抽象厅。说老实的,我不是很能领会。有些好懂些,有些完全不知道要看什么。

最后回到旋转展厅,那里在展出的是中国唐朝的一些绘画和音乐器械。重温了唐明皇和杨贵妃的爱情和音乐造诣。 作为中国人,也懂得一点唐朝历史,走在里面听着中国的音乐,欣赏着这些文化展物,感觉回到了国内。

周末把自己浸泡在文化之旅是很轻松愉快的。 我在学习铅笔素描。老公在博物馆的时候建议我应该去上正规的课。目前我是自己跟着书在自学。老公可以看到我的进步。所以会做这建议。接下来是应该可以考虑一下了。

Sort:  

Such a nice place to visit
Hope you enjoy the trip
It will be a dream come through for me to also visit the place one day

Thanks I did. Keep the dream. Who knows what will happen. :)

Nice visit to see some cultural historic aspect.
Personally, I'll prefer to shoot some pictures in portrait mode rather than landscape.
Especially this one:-)

I like this one too. :)

Need to get a portrait shot next time:-)

Thanks for sharing such an amazing experience with us all. I learnt one or things from your traveling experience. Nice write up with good expression

Thanks and glad you like it.

It's nice to be a friend of culture and art!
姐姐的图片让我有所思。
前几年我去伦敦大英博物馆时,就一直在想一个问题:世界公认的几大博物馆中为什么没有中国博物馆跻身其中?
后来想出一个答案,也不知道对不对。在中国的博物馆中我们一般只能看到中国的文物,而世界那几大博物馆中我们却能看到来自世界各地的文物。
这竟有些黑色幽默?!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18