Infrared Photography - Two horse pasturesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beautifulsunday6 years ago

I came across a horse pasture where two pet horses live. They have a large area to walk around and seem like a pretty relaxed live. The trees is the surrounding area are covered in vines. You can see them in the picture climbing up the trees, reflecting infrared light as they do so. The tree trunks are more dark due to them not reflecting infrared radiation

These photos are my entries for #beautifulsunday hosted by @ace108 and #SublimeSunday by @c0ff33a

ryMzpWGVe4.jpg

Camera ModelLumix GH3, modified by LifePixel for Full Spectrum
LensOlympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 12mm-50mm
Filter850 nanometer Infrared Passthrough filter
Aperturef/5.4
Shutter Speed1/40 sec
Film Speed400
SpectrumInfrared (IR)
Wavelength850 nanometers
LocationNorth Georgia USA.

HygGpbMEgN.jpg

Eventhough there were many trees, I saw openings in the canopy where light was coming through. It was illuminating the ground and probably gave the horses nice places to warm up. The vines have not appeared to get all the way up the trees, still a ways to go.

S1-z6-fExV.jpg

I zoomed in the most I could, as I did not want to cross the fence and walk onto their land. Sometimes ive seen them get closer to the fence, so maybe next time I can get some better photos of the horses. You can see the vines on the left side of the image as well, I think they are English Ivy. Which will hurt the trees if it gets up in the canopy. I figure the land owner will handle it before then, assuming thats been done before already.


I take pictures with a special camera. Its a Mirrorless DSLR that has been modified by LifePixel to see light in other wavelengths. This allows my camera to capture light in the Infrared [IR] around 1300 NM wavelength, through the visual spectrum and into the Ultraviolet A / B wavelengths roughly into the 300 NM wavelength.

I carry many filters on me to make the photos you see in my blog, these filters screw on my lens and help me isolate certain wavelengths for certain scenes. These filters can be UV/IR passthrough filters to assist me get a natural photo taking out the UV and IR light. Or I may use a Infrared passthrough filter capture just IR light. I can do the came with UR light as well, though I need some better filters which they can cost a few hundred dollars for true Ultraviolet passthrough filters. So for right now I have B+W 403 filters that still allow some infrared light in, due to their cheaper material.

For more information on how I do my photography I have a short video on that: https://steempeak.com/photography/@solominer/vqgcrs3x

PlatformURL/Username
Steemithttps://steemit.com/@solominer
D.Tube
Wekuhttps://deals.weku.io/pick_account?referral=solominer
Bit.Tubehttps://bit.tube/solominer
MithrilSolominer
Bitcointalkhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=83228
CryptoPanichttps://cryptopanic.com/solominer
Whaleshareshttps://whaleshares.io/@solominer
Bearshareshttps://bearshares.com/@solominer/

HyedqTBryV.gif

thanks @nevlu123 for the great animation

Sort:  

Takes a while to spot them in the picture. I think I'd prefer color for these.

@ace108 unfortunately infrared lacks most colors. So it would be an effect if I added color.

Posted using Partiko Android

@ace108 good point though, they are hard to see. I hope they come closer next time for some better photos.

Posted using Partiko Android

This really is an arresting style of photographic treatment

@momzillanc thanks, I am working on different styles of blogging so glad you noticed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @solominer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.667 which ranks you at #14069 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 59 places in the last three days (old rank 14128).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 233 contributions, your post is ranked at #150.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41