frost, cemetery, night cycling, and a bit of humphrey bogartsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beautifulsunday5 years ago (edited)

Luckily, i was able to fill last day of the weekend with some great stuff. we got up lately, had a lazy breakfast with remains of yesterday's pizza and a coffee, watched 'Deep sleep' with astonishing Humphrey Bogart as Philip Marlowe (novels by Raymond Chandler were my extreme fave reading 20 years ago, especially 'The High Window' ) and...

And I still had a lot of time on my tips, and the sun was shining (i.e. it was a photo-friendly weater!). So I grabbed three lenses, 1 camera, 2 spare batteries, and headed to the Novodevitchii Monastery Necropol, the cemetary I wanted to walk and shoot so much... but alway put that plan away due to the poor light and bad weather.

So, the rest of the day I well-filled with the frost, great cemetery walk and, again, a great photosession, evening cycling, and some night photography. The images will need raw processing and god knows when I be able to shape a poper posts out of it, but let me share a few here-and-theres asap.

IMG_4757w.jpg
The Moscow Triumph gates (built by V.Stasov, 1835) at St.Petersburg

IMG_4734w.jpg

Note the bokeh -- I didnt use anything special, just the soviet manual fish-eye lens Zenitar 16mm. It is the 1st time I use it for the night shoting, I never expected it will bring on the table bokeh like that. I am very surprised, in a good way!

IMG_4697 w.jpg

I am so in love with this Zenitar lens.. haha... probably like some of my friends are in love with Helios-44, another vintage and manual product of the soviet industry. Mmmm... for serious commercial shooting probably you probably better choose something more reliable, giving 100% clear result, ofc this is not the case... but for the fun of the process and artsy-fartsy playing, it is great. I am having so much fun with it, that... I mentioned that I borrowed 3 lenses with me today -- 50mm 1.4 and 16-35mm -- and, you know, I had not even a slightest desire to change fish-eye to something 'more reliable', 'crystal clear' and 'precise auto focusing'.

Now let me rewind it to 5 hours before. This is the Novodevitchii Monastery at Moskovsky ave, that has necropol I was so eager to visit. I headed here at 14:00, and reached it apparently by 14:30. It is not that far from my apartment.
[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 59.896716 lat 30.324708 long Novodevichii Monastery Nekropol (1) d3scr)

IMG_4185 w.jpg

IMG_4188 w.jpg

The sun wasnt that high.. the window before the end of the day and poor lighting was just about 60-90 minutes. So my walking was intense. At times I was running across the alleys a bit like a hare, trying to check every corner. Of course, I failed. This necropol is sufficient and requires a day dedication.. or maybe even more.

IMG_4189w.jpg

Same location, just another shot with different manual settings: I had to adjust everything manually, and at times tried to play with settings in 2-3 iterations, to get a proper result. It was a bit time consuming, but.. I guess worth it.

IMG_4191w.jpg

IMG_4194w.jpg

Probably, it all turned to good: my late visit... if I would came earlier, when the sun supposed to be higher, I would not get results like this. And, again, if I'd visit this place in August or September, everything would be green or yellow (actually, I wanted it to be yellow...) and the pics would be completely different sort, not like these lonely, praying, naked trees and branches... oh, my random unsupposed luck!

IMG_4205w.jpg

IMG_4211 w.jpg

I wanted to check how this Zenitar 16mm lens work at contra light... results are good and bad -- it works, and gives nice results, but always providing some (not annoying) artifacts.

IMG_4220 w.jpg

This certain picture (hi-res is clickable) has three (!) different sorts of it... these flares are not annoying to me, they are weird and shaped in an intresting way, but... still, they are.

IMG_4243w.jpg

Thanks to the frost, I had some beautiful sight of the leaves touched with frost (also thanks to the cemetary authorities who dont put much efforts into leaves-cleaning. God bless them! Seriously!!)

IMG_4487w.jpg

IMG_4488w.jpg

The alleys in the distant and perhaps less-visited areas of the cemetary, were all green from the moss, and even it was green with some silver (thanks to the frost). Miraculous pictures!

IMG_4358w.jpg
I spent almost 20 mins in the corner, trying to get a decent macro shots of some beautiful frost on the moss and the maple leaves.

Please check the full version of this image (clickable). I insist, my dear friends!

IMG_4411w.jpg

IMG_4439w.jpg


uff! probably time to round up the post and go to sleep. to be continued!

ps. you probably won't believe, but I found some fungi, as well!
@ewkaw, do you believe me? moss, frost... and fungi!

IMG_4371  w.jpg

IMG_4391w.jpg

IMG_4585 w.jpg

thank you for stopping by!


Sort:  

Спасибо за пост в #ru
Поддержано!

Мы поддерживаем русскоязычных авторов стима! 

Поддержите вместе с нами.
[делегировать 10 СП](https://app.steemconnect.com/sign/delegateVestingShares?delegator=&delegatee=ruvoter&vesting_shares=10%20SP) [20 СП](https://app.steemconnect.com/sign/delegateVestingShares?delegator=&delegatee=ruvoter&vesting_shares=20%20SP) [50 СП](https://app.steemconnect.com/sign/delegateVestingShares?delegator=&delegatee=ruvoter&vesting_shares=50%20SP) [100 СП](https://app.steemconnect.com/sign/delegateVestingShares?delegator=&delegatee=ruvoter&vesting_shares=100%20SP)[500 СП](https://app.steemconnect.com/sign/delegateVestingShares?delegator=&delegatee=ruvoter&vesting_shares=500%20SP)                

You have used the Hashtag #[CC] and can now reward 48.0 comments under your post with one CC.

More information about the Commentcoin-Project can be found on this account.
Thanks for using it.

Happy comments.
Your CC-Team:
@kristall97 ([Code-Designer])
@alucian ([Project-Designer])

thank you. your efforts are appreciated!

@qwerrie Happy to hear that. We wish you many comments. Greetings @wakeupkitty

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to qwerrie! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

Oh wow...this is a walk with an atmosphere...! ^_^ I felt a bit like in a movie and was not really in peace, if you know what i mean 😃
...these statues sitting on the graves, oh my, they are frightening, aren't they ? 😃

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=qwerrie
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=frost-cemetery-night-cycling-and-a-bit-of-humphrey-bogart


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Love the photos of the gates! The night lights gives a very nice effect. The cemetery looks a little eerie. Good thing it was daytime :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

hey, the cemetary isnt spooky. why?!! nice statues, a lot of rust and decay. the only scary thing there is holes in the graves, if you happen to drop down there, it could make a problem. other folks walking across the alleys. its completely safe! (unlike the fish )))

I like nightly colours! I made a long timings here, especially to reach the elongated lights from the cars passing by.

All photography very beautiful

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @qwerrie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63271.81
ETH 2568.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80