(ENG/PT) BeautifulSunday - initiated by @ace108 - Visit to Santa Cruz - Visita a Santa CruzsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beautifulsunday7 years ago

This is my entry for the BeautifulSunday challenge, initiated by @ace108:
Visit to Santa Cruz
Visita a Santa Cruz

(ENG) I'm not sure this is a BeautifulSunday kind of post, but I wanted to highlight some important fact that happened 26 years ago, on this date, being the kick off for the freedom of a whole population. The Santa Cruz (cemetery) massacre.

(PT) Não sei se este post é um tipo de post para o BeautifulSunday, mas não quero deixar de assinalar um facto que aconteceu faz hoje 26 anos, e que foi o princípio da libertação de um povo. O massacre de Santa Cruz.

cruz com igreja boa1.jpg

(ENG) As I told you last week, East Timor was under the Indonesian occupation for 24 years (1975/1999), an era of repression and violence. The country became independent in 2002.
The fact that awaken the world about the genocide East Timor was being subjected was the massacre of Santa Cruz, in 1991, in which more than 250 Timorese (and a New Zealand citizen) were murdered.

(PT) Como vos dizia na semana passada, Timor-Leste esteve sob ocupação indonésia durante 24 anos (1975/1999), no que foi uma era de repressão e violência. O país tornou-se independente em 2002. O acontecimento que fez despertar o mundo para a situação que se vivia no território foi o massacre de Santa Cruz, no qual mais de 250 timorenses (e um cidadão neozelandês) foram barbaramente assassinados.

anjinho B&W.jpg

(ENG) The difference from other previous massacres is that, in this one, a journalist called Max Stahl was there and could register it in video and send it out from Timor to the main TV channels in Europe and the Western world.

(PT) A diferença é que, neste acontecimento, e não nos anteriores, estava presente o jornalista Max Stahl, que conseguiu filmar e enviar o video para fora de Timor para os canais de TV da Europa e do restante mundo ocidental.

grades de fogo.jpg

(ENG) The most infamous image that traveled around the world, though it raised international awareness of the state of oppression and violence that East Timor was living in at the time, is now immortalized in a statue in the capital Dili.

(PT) A imagem mais tristemente famosa que correu mundo, mas que deu a conhecer a situação de opressão e de violência que Timor-Leste vivia está hoje imortalizada numa estátua na capital Dili.

motael 1.jpg

(ENG) Each year people go to the cemetery and light candles for their death.

(PT) Todos os anos as pessoas assinalam esta data, pondo velas nas sepulturas dos seus mortos.

rapariga com velas.jpg

See the video of the footage of the massacre. Veja o video do massacre.

Photos taken by me.

To know more about this challenge check out this link: https://steemit.com/beautifulsunday/@ace108/2sihzf-beautifulsunday-powered-up-winners-for-the-week-with-help-of-steemsql-or-steemsql-by-ace108

I hope this information was useful and interesting.

Thanks @ace108 :)
Have a great Sunday, my friends.

Isabel
www.isabelnolasco.com

Sort:  

learning something including some history is a #beautifulsunday

Thanks for your understanding and for being so openminded. Cheers, my friend.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thanks, my dear Pix!

Account of @nolasco has been powered up 0.3 steem by @ace108 because of this post.
Thank you for sharing your #beautifulsunday. :-)

See reply from @nolasco HERE

Thanks a lot, @ace108, I'm so happy :))!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66