Beautiful Sunday at Hodgson Mill

Today @jasonrussell and I went out exploring with our good friend T.C. and our youngest daughter, Annabel. We are surrounded by natural beauty around our hometown, but we wanted to go see something new today! One of our first stops was at Hodgson Mill outside of the tiny town of Dora, Missouri.

IMG_9473.jpg

One of my photos of the spring and the mill!

We saw so many beautiful things today, but we had a big day and we are TIRED!!! ;) Jason and I will be sharing some more photos of the scenic views from today very, very soon!

Thanks for checking it out!

follow melody.jpg

Sort:  

How dare you tease us like this!!!

Haha! We saw so much fun stuff today. Can’t wait to go through all of the photos, but we both had to put a little teaser up tonight ;)

this is gorgeous!

Thank you! It really is a beautiful place!

Take a rest and upload more good photo when you are not tired :) I can feel that nature a lot. I keep posting my travel during exchange student life with good photos so if you are interested in it, please visit my post. I'm sure you won't regret it :)

I love nature, and when you do, I'll see our waterfalls

Beautiful photograph! I have always wanted to see a mill like that in reality. Nice to see such an expertly captured image though!

Thanks David! It really was beautiful to see it in person. There are so many historic mills around the rivers in Missouri and I want to see them all!! ;)

I want to see more!!!

I can’t wait to share more soon! Didn’t you guys just go there not too long ago?

Yeah, it was such a peaceful little place! I would have loved seeing the other places you guys visited, they were beautiful!

Beautiful photo! I remember visiting there years ago.

Thanks Melinda! I’ve known of it for a long time, but we finally got to visit for the first time the other day and it certainly didn’t disappoint!

I think I was there in the 70's! There is an old film photo of it in one of my photo albums!

I would love to see it if you can find it!!! I was born in ‘82 and my parents used to take us kids around all of the local places because they couldn’t afford big vacations. I guess you could say we are keeping with tradition now with our little family ;)

I'll look for it tomorrow...my snapshots are so disorganized! Thank goodness for digital....although my kids think my digital photos are disorganized too!

Here are the old photos I have. Probably late 70's early 80's.

image

image

That’s too cool! I’m so glad you found them! 😃 It looks like maybe the water wheel wasn’t there at the time? Or maybe I just can’t see it. But I do see some canoes! :)

The trees near the little damn are not there in your photo?

No, the flood in April really wiped out a lot of stuff down in that little valley. I’ll have to post some more photos eventually. We drove over the white river on the way there and that entire area is still completely devastated. They had to completely replace the bridge by Hammond Mill camp and it actually just recently reopened.

So much dramatic weather. I was up in northern Wisconsin/upper Michigan this summer and saw some of the damage caused when they got 11 inches of rain in 4 hours. Many bridges are still out there, too.

It’s been a crazy year for weather, that’s for sure! When I get around to posting more pictures, would you mind if I used yours for comparison to show how the flood took out the trees? I will be sure to mention you for the photo credit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62258.82
ETH 2427.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58