A Beautiful Sublime Sunday At Brookville Lake & Whitewater Memorial State Park

in #beautifulsunday6 years ago

Brookville Lake & Whitewater Memorial.png

Today we visited Brookville Lake & Whitewater Memorial State Park. It's located about an hour and half from us in Liberty, IN. The park is made up of 200 acres and we decided to walk the 2.5 mile Memorial Trail.

Lieber State Recreation Area at Cagles Mill Lake (6).png

But first, we both needed to relieve ourselves in the 1st facility we could find. I believe we drank too much water on the drive there. I loved the sitting of the outhouse and the interesting little pieces of nature that I found around it, but...

Lieber State Recreation Area at Cagles Mill Lake (7).png

I was slightly mortified by all of the bugs flying around inside of it. These things usually have some kind of a bug strip hanging inside to keep that down. That didn't change the fact that I had to pee though so I did what I had to do, without sitting on the seat of course. Shivers

Lieber State Recreation Area at Cagles Mill Lake (8).png

Moving on from that, we headed toward the trail and I ran across this beautiful row of trees. I am thrilled that I thought to take a photograph to share them with you.

Lieber State Recreation Area at Cagles Mill Lake (9).png

Lieber State Recreation Area at Cagles Mill Lake (10).png

We loved the trail right away and were impressed by how well marked it is.

Lieber State Recreation Area at Cagles Mill Lake (11).png

I'm shocked the spider and web showed up so well in this photograph. I didn't figure that it would.

Lieber State Recreation Area at Cagles Mill Lake (12).png

We found beautiful mushrooms growing all over this trail, these are a few of my favorites.

Lieber State Recreation Area at Cagles Mill Lake (13).png

We even made a friend who lives next to a beautiful view of the lake. He didn't seem too afraid of us either and held his ground as I snapped his photograph.

Lieber State Recreation Area at Cagles Mill Lake (14).png

About half way through the trail, we spotted a perfect place to have our lunch. I packed us peanut butter and honey sandwiches with a side of Cheese It Party Mix.

It was actually our very first picnic together, because we usually eat out on these occasions. It was a nice change of pace.

Lieber State Recreation Area at Cagles Mill Lake (15).png

With full bellies and a good rest, we got back on the trail. The lake was never far from the trail and we enjoyed hearing the water as we walked.

Lieber State Recreation Area at Cagles Mill Lake (16).png

We came across a fallen tree on the trail but it was easy to pass under. Just above it there was an opening in the canopy of tree tops and the sun was shining through. It was beautiful.

Lieber State Recreation Area at Cagles Mill Lake (17).png

The remainder of the Memorial Trail did not disappoint and we were proper tired from our long walk on it.

Lieber State Recreation Area at Cagles Mill Lake (18).png

We got into our car to cool off and rest while we drove over the a beach within the park.

Lieber State Recreation Area at Cagles Mill Lake (19).png

Lieber State Recreation Area at Cagles Mill Lake (20).png

The views from a floating deck were spectacular and there was a pleasant breeze for us to enjoy. There were even a few families around enjoying a swim.

Lieber State Recreation Area at Cagles Mill Lake (21).png

We found a sweet memorial at the beach for veterans, a cute batch of flowers and a strange bug as we ended our day at the state park.

We were both very happy we chose to go to this new to us state park. Our journey refreshing.

A big thank you to @ace108 for hosting the #beautifulsunday and to @c0ff33a for hosting the #sublimesunday tags each week!

If You Are Reading This, I Hope You Have An Awesome Day!

Photographs are owned by @debralee

My other social media's:
You Tube Vlog
You Tube Gaming
DTube
Twitter
Instagram
Clickasnap


https://steemit.com/@archdruid

Sort:  

Such a beautiful park and thanks for sharing these wonderful images! All the mushrooms are fascinating to see.

I loved running across all of the mush rooms too. I don't think I have ever seen so many in one park.

Everything looks so green! Beautiful looking area however.

It was a beautiful place to spend the day.

Excellent photography.lovely shoot.i like it photo 📷 ...my friend

Spider's doing his job. They are always in the parks

Yeah, the parks are filled with them. I'm allergic to their bites but they don't bother me out in nature.

Well, at least you didn't have to do it in the woods and there's toilet paper there.

That's true & the bugs would have been there too. lol

Spell TRANQUILITY <3

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Exactly. :D

I am not sure whether the porta-potty was better than a secluded place behind a tree!

Other than that, all the pics were so lovely LOL

Right! ha!! If only it was easier for me to pee behind a tree. :P

It was a lovely place otherwise. :D

I can only hope that path along the lake went on for quite some time. That looks like an amazing one to enjoy the sights from. Always nice to see a park somewhat kept up. That bench with “take out your trash” was kind of funny but sad people have to be reminded of such things. I always went by the rule leave a place better then when you got there. So many people just don’t plan to bringing their own trash out or are just too lazy. Places like these don’t say so wonderful if no one respects them!

Least they had some toilet paper left over for you to use hehe. One thing I’ll never miss when I use to be very active outdoors is those bathroom spots in the middle of nowhere. Which is still preferred then not having any at all.

Have a wonderful week as well!

It is indeed a wonderful place, I'd love to make this trail too. So green and lush! I'm glad you had a wonderful time, Debra!

What a lovely park. Thanks for sharing Deb. I had to chuckle at your outhouse adventure.

The thought of that outhouse still makes me cringe. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62