Beautiful Sunday — Lost Forest Park

We were together.
I forget the rest.
Walt Whitman

Screen Shot 2018-01-07 at 6.33.50 PM.png

This is where the road ended. We could turn left to continue north somewhere on a lazy Sunday afternoon or we could follow the sign and turn right.

I was interested in the right turn. The sign said Lost Forest Park and I was intrigued.

A few snaky turns and more signs appeared. They shouted—

TURN BACK

DO NOT ENTER

PRIVATE PROPERTY

I was a little confused as the sign at the right turn was so inviting. I have no idea what that was all about.

There was no gate, no chain, no houses. Although I did see a few trailer type cottages.

Maybe the forest wasn't lost— maybe its the people who live there.....or do they?

Screen Shot 2018-01-07 at 6.32.19 PM.png

After we turned the car around and drove north I grabbed a shot of this barn. It looked so colorful and sharp against the blue sky and bright white snow.

Screen Shot 2018-01-07 at 6.28.44 PM.png

I tried a little black and white edit (thanks @daveks you've gotten me addicted to b&w). I enjoy how the grey tones highlight the swirly-twirly ridges and dips in the snow.

Screen Shot 2018-01-07 at 6.42.14 PM.png


How was your Sunday?




photos by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 18-55mm and 55mm-200mm
Adobe Lightroom

© all rights reserved


Thanks to @ace108 for initiating the #BeautifulSunday photo challenge.


Sort:  

Sounds like an ornery bunch!

I know right? At least put a black cover over the welcome sign.....lol. I was waiting for the trolls to come out and chase us behind our car. That would have be fun!

Red barns. Classic for Ontario. Looks great against the snow. Lost Forest Park I believe is a camp ground. So it would be closed this time of year, unless they are catering to polar bears. :)

Oh a camp ground....such a strange way to un advertise....lol. They should have had some signage - I thot I was going on a mystery adventure - in a way I suppose I did.

No polar bear sightings!

I am enjoying seeing so many.nicely done b&w photos, too. Looks like it was a good day for a drive!

It was a nice day. Black and white photos are fun - so many ways to edit - I am still learning that's for sure.

This post has received a 3.22 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

thanks your post! have a nice day

Thanks for reading my post! Have a nice evening!

This post has received a 2.01 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

TURN BACK

DO NOT ENTER

PRIVATE PROPERTY

Evidently the individual residents posting those signs do not believe in Total Transparency... ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Welcome but Go Away. I've heard that many times in my life :)

The sign boards looks really intriguing. Those photos are beautiful, though it looks like a wandering place. But it is a wonderful sunday expericence. Nice post. ;)

Thank you @puroypoi. Appreciate your comments.

mysterious sunday :) I see you have an interesting and beautiful day!
I liked the photos you added to your sharing.
thanks and congratulations

Thanks @artizm. Glad you enjoyed the photos and story.

"When you come to a fork in the road, take it". -Yogi Berra
Very beautiful shots. I agree too about BW photos. Such a different, rare quality to them. So nice we can take, process and enjoy both now so easily.

Thanks for your detailed comments @ddschteinn.....I always appreciate them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51